Beaumontdu- Périgord

On the D25 from Le
Buisson. * 1,150. £ Le Buisson-de-
Cadouin. n Place Centrale (05) 53
22 39 12). ( Tue & Sat am.
Since its foundation in 1272,
Beaumont, a bastide town
built by the English, has
undergone much alteration. Of
the 16 gates that once formed
part of its fortifications, only
one, the Porte de Luzier,
remains, forming the present
entrance into the town. The
central square was remodelled
in the 18th century and the
covered market no longer
exists. There are some fine
13th-, 14th- and 15th-century
houses, particularly in rue
Romieu and rue Vidal. The
town’s architectural jewel is
its impressive fortified church,
the Église Saint-Laurent-et-
Saint-Front. One of the finest
in southwest France, this
huge, severely plain church is
in a military Gothic style, with
four belfry-like towers, linked
by a wall-walk. The church was built from 1280 to 1330
and formed part of the town’s
defences. The doorway is
decorated with a frieze filled
with grimacing figures.

Environs
The medieval village of Saint-
Avit-Sénieur, 5km (3 miles)
east of Beaumont, is visible
from afar due to its church.
This Romanesque structure
was fortified in the 14th
century, and a wall-walk
connects its two towers.
Some 10km (6 miles) east
of Beaumont lies the village
of Montferrand-du-Périgord.
It has a splendid 16th-century
covered market and the
ruins of a castle with a 12thcentury
keep.
The Château de Lanquais,
10km (6 miles) northwest of
Beaumont, has a 15th-century
circular tower and polygonal
staircase tower, as well as
residential quarters dating from
the 16th and 17th centuries.
+ Château de Lanquais
Tel (05) 53 61 24 24. # May–Sep:
daily; out of season: call.