Ammerschwihr (Аммершвир) — винодельческая деревенька в Эльзасе с численностью 1875 человек, расположенная на Винной дороге Эльзаса, недалеко от Кайзерберга, в окрестностях Кольмара (4 км на северо-восток).
Погода в Аммершвире:
Добраться в Аммершвир:
Первое упоминание об Аммершвире датируется 869 годом, тогда его называли Amarici Villare. В 1367 году Аммершвир получил статус города. Он принадлежал переднеавстрийскому маркграфству Ландсберг, а в XVI веке перешёл к Лацарусу фон Швенди.
- Almenswile en 879
- Amelricheswilre en 977
- Amalrichovilla en 1128
- Amilrichiswilre vers 1149
The slopes of Ammerschwihr have been inhabited since the bronze age and many roman fortifications are to be found there. Amalraicivillare was the first name given to the village in 869.
In 1367 the village of Amalraicivillare became a town. Three lords (the germanic holy empire, the Lord of Ribeaupierre and the Lord of Hohlandsberg) shared the communal assets and its revenues and in 1431, was accorded the same privileges as the imperial towns of Alsace (the famous league of the Decapole). The wine business developed and would remain an important resource through the ages. Up to the 16th century the town continued to grow. During the Thirty Year War (1618-1648), Ammerschwihr was placed under the protection of the King of France.
The 18th centrury was a period of calm during which the middle classes improved the wine trade. In an account of a voyage it was said: “Ammerschwihr where one only breathes wealth and comfort, owns an immense asset (ban): the most fruitful and celebrated wine of all Haute Alsace” From the time of the Old Regime until the Revolution Ammerschwihr became the principle town of the area and reverted to a simple Parish in the calm after the Revolution.
The 19th and 20th centuries saw very little change in the layout of the town and its winegrowing ressourses. In December 1944 Ammerschwihr was subjected to violent bombardements which destroyed 85% of the town. On the 18th December 1944 Ammerschwihr was liberated and
on the 31st December the civilian population was evacuated from the caves where they had found refuge. It took all the courage of the inhabitants of Ammerschwihr and the talents of the architect Charles Gustave Stoskopf together with American funding to give the ‘cite des trois merles’ a new character.
Ammerschwihr history earth
The country Ammerschwihr been inhabited since the Bronze Age. During the Roman conquest, several fortifications were built on the hills. Ammerschwihr is named for the first time in 869 under the name of Amalricivillare.
Over the centuries, the village transforms into town and extends dramatically; around the village were several hamlets, including Meywihr, which gradually disappeared.
1367: Ammerschwihr is High to city status. Three lords shared the communal ban and income: the Holy Roman Empire, the lordship of Ribeaupierre and that of Hohlandsberg.
1431: Ammerschwihr continues to thrive and King Sigismund granted him the same privileges as the imperial cities of Alsace (Decapolis). The citizens of the city developed the wine trade, which is and will remain the great resource throughout the ages.
1491: May 3, appearance of the Virgin to the Trois Epis.
1534 is the golden age of Ammerschwihr, the city flourished more and more. Evidenced by the Tower of Burgesses, the Tower of the Rascals, the remains of the Hotel de Ville (1552), the Church of St. Martin enlarged between 1564 and 1585.
1618-1648: The Thirty Years War brings its train of misery and cruelty. In 1634, the town was under the protection of the King of France, it gradually regain its past affluence.
1760: the eighteenth century is a quiet period for the city. The bourgeois will be able to improve crops and trading. In a travelogue, it says: «Ammerschwihr, where one breathes qu’opulence and ease, has a huge ban, the most fertile and most renowned in all the excellent wines of Haute Alsace Its inhabitants are. proud and make a large and continuous trade. »
1789, when the Revolution abolished the old regime, Ammerschwihr elects a municipality and became the chief town of Canton.
1803: the revolutionary storm subsides and the town becomes parish. The nineteenth and early twentieth century see little changes in terms and scope of the City and wine resources.
1944: World War II as a calamity falls in December. Terrible bombardment destroyed the city 85%. On December 18, the city was liberated on December 31 is the evacuation of the civilian refugee population in the cellars.
1948-1956: reconstruction. It takes all the courage and skill of the inhabitants of the architect Charles Gustave Stoskopf to give back to the city of the three blackbirds, a new cachet.
1976: extension of the city towards the east (flower district)
Путеводитель по Аммершвиру:
Ammerschwihr is, at first glance, a pretty dull village. On the large road that runs through the village, from Colmar through Kaysersberg, over the Col de Bonhomme towards Epinal, heavy trucks roars constantly. The road also splits the village into two parts; the new section on the plain is a residential area with lots of small producers, while the older section at the foot of the slopes have a more traditional layout and traditional buildings.
The village hosts — lo and behold — nearly 50 wineries. The reason is that Ammerschwihr has never had its’ own cooperatives. Some producers are large, notably Henri Ehrhart, Kuehn and J. B. Adam who are important trading houses.
Ammerschwihr owes, of course, its reputation to the most recent Alsace Grand Cru, Kaefferkopf. This land was actually the first in Alsace who received official protected status. It was delimited already in 1932, yet it took until 2006 before this mythical terroir was recognised as a Grand Cru within the AOC system. As much as 70% of the area is used for Gewurztraminer, which is often very fresh with obvious citrus aromas. The law allows Kaefferkopf to be sold as variatal wines (not Muscat), or as a traditional mixture of mainly Gewurztraminer and Riesling.
Producers in Ammerschwihr has often land on the Grands Crus of neighbouring villages; Wineck-Schlossberg (Katzenthal), Schlossberg (Kaysersberg/Kientzheim), Furstentum (Kientzheim) and Mambourg (Sigolsheim). Prices of the wines from the village are generally very reasonable. But while Kaefferkopf provides wonderful fresh wines, the more basic wines from Ammerschwihr can be rather uninspiring and dull. These grapes come from the plain which is not capable of giving grapes with the qualities nor the character of the vineyards on the slopes. So be very selective!
Ammerschwihr was sadly levelled to the ground in December 1944 after intense shelling by U.S. artillery. Remaining of the former medieval are the southern city gate and the ruin of the Hôtel de Ville, built in Renaissance style in 1552 (see picture on the left).
Ворота Обертор (или porte haute) или башня «гнездо аиста» с воротами (1608)
Ворота были построены в 13 веке.
The high door dates from the seventeenth century and was part of the fortification. Reporting to the Holy Roman Empire, it was located on the western outskirts of the city. During the fifteenth century, the upper structure is modified by a timber and a muzzle. A sundial of arms of the city is on the east and west facades.
Bürgerturm или tour des Bourgeois
Башня расположена на улице rue des Rivières-aux-Bains
Located rue des Rivières-to-Bains, the part exposed to the invasions of the bourgeois revolution is round, while the rest, inside the walls is square. The tower is armed with three lethal paneled. Above one of the doors for access to the old ramparts are the weapons of the city. The second door is crowned by the shields of three lords protectors: the Holy Roman Empire, Count Lupfen and the lords of Ribeaupierre. The roof of the tower is the bourgeois establishment in 1910. Until World War II, part of the stream was diverted and spent on it.
часть подвергается нашествиям буржуазной революции круглый, в то время как остальные, внутри стен квадратная. Башня вооружен тремя летального филенчатые. Над одной из дверей для доступа к старым валами являются оружием города. Вторая дверь увенчана щиты трех господ протекторов: Священной Римской империи, граф Lupfen и владетелей Ribeaupierre. Крыша башни буржуазная создание в 1910 г. Вплоть до Второй мировой войны, часть потока не было отвлечено и потратил на него.
We know little of the Romanesque building that preceded, which was erected in collegiate May 12, 1222 by the bishop of Cavaillon. In the middle of the xv th century, seeking to enlarge rebuilding the choir, but in 1547 the Isle of Consuls are obliged to note that the building threatens ruin and are establishing various projects.
None will come until 1640, when the collapse of the choir, poorly repaired ten years ago, forcing its complete reconstruction alike.
Immediately after, a new total reconstruction project of the nave is launched; an invitation to tender held in 1645, in terms of the Avignon architect François Royers of Valfenière . Remained unsuccessful, the auction resumed in 1647, work finally begin and last until at least 1668; on that date, the building was completed, but remains covered by a wooden roof. It was only in 1670 that the generosity of a Chapter member, the provost of Casal, allowed to replace it with a stone vault.
The new church, under the title of Our Lady of the Angels and the patronage of the Assumption was consecrated May 29, 1672.
The structural work completed, considerable work beautification took place until the beginning of the xviii th century, and the church is enriched even during the Revolution, receiving the spoils — woodwork, paintings and statues — convents of Isle removed in 1791.
The building is classified as historical monuments since 2 .
The building plan is very simple: a vast nave of six bays, flanked on each side of not communicating side chapels located between the buttresses, and grafted onto a much narrower choir — but this disparity is explained by the difference period between the two parties.
The façade is punctuated by two levels of pilasters and engaged columns, separated by a very prominent entablature. The ensemble, in its superposition Doric — Ionic, is rich but austere. The central axis, which opens the main door in a semicircular arch, is marked by the projection of the columns and a pediment summit limited to the central bay. A railing framed summed bases balls crown the façade and gives the whole a very Roman appearance.
The internal order is punctuated by large arcades, where the open side chapels surmounted by tribunes themselves covered with identical arches. High pilasters separate spans, but curiously they carry no entablature, directly receiving the springing of the arches of the vaults. The horizontal well is simply marked by the alignment of the balustrades of the galleries.
The vaulting of ribbed reinforces the similarities between Our Lady of the Angels and the church of the Jesuit College of La Fleche (Sarthe), designed by Etienne Martellange known that the work marked the Valfenière .
The choir opens on the nave by a triumphal arch and includes a bay and a seven-sided apse. All the apse is occupied by a magnificent altar and a semicircular woodwork xvii e entirely gilded and richly carved century. The altarpiece consists of two torsos and fluted columns framing a picture of Reynaud Levieux of the Assumption of the Virgin, painted in Rome in 1680. These columns support an intricately carved arches upon which two angels. The arch itself is topped by a triangular pediment back, supporting two angels flanking a statue of the Virgin.
The semicircular woodwork comprises on each side of the altar, two compartments separated by engaged columns on double stylobates . Each compartment has opened a niche containing a statue. We recognize from left to right: Saint Laurent with a grill, St. Peter with the keys of the kingdom of heaven, St. Pancras and St. Paul with the sword instrument of his martyrdom. The set — altar and paneling — was offered by the provost of Casal. The price makes this work is not known; However, given that all fairly similar and almost contemporary is in the choir of St. Peter’s Basilica Avignon , François Souchal believes that this is the same designer to know the architect François Royers the Valfenière 3 .
The high altar, rococo style, is in polychrome marble. The tabernacle is surmounted by a canopy columns. At each end of the altar, a marble angel kneels Carrara.
Apart from the faux marble painting pilasters and arches, we note especially the long series of seated female figures or elongated in the spandrels of the arches of the side chapels, which are allegories of the Virgin of Virtues, identifiable by objects or instruments accompany them. This mode is undoubtedly from Rome and contributes powerfully to the Italian side of the building. Here, the decor due to the chisel of the sculptor Avignon Jean Peru was implemented from 1688. These allegories were codified by Cesare Ripa in a famous Treaty of iconology, translated into French by Jean Baudouin early in the xvii th century. And north side of the choir and starting the following figures are observed:
- 1 st arc: a — She presses her breast with one hand and holds out a cup of the other: it is charity. B — It takes an anchor is Hope.
- 2 e arc: c — Justice: she holds a balance and licteur beams are the attributes of Justice. D — Prudence: she holds a mirror in her hand and a snake wrapped around his other arm.
- 3 e arc: e — Peace or constancy: she holds a scroll-shaped book (some believe that this is most likely a barrel column 4 ). F — Temperance: she holds in her lap a horse bit that can curb the enthusiasm of the animal and in the right hand a pair of glasses, invitation to better observe before acting.
- 4 th arc: g — The Authority: it takes two keys and is based on two open books. H — Religion: she is holding a chalice attribute of faith or religion.
- 5 e arc: i — Virginity: she hugs a unicorn who was believed could be captured only through a virgin 5 . J — Chastity: she waves a discipline , penitential instrument, and has a screen on which is perched a dove.
- 6 th arc: k — The Christian Faith: she holds a cross and a book. The other spandrel is not decorated with an allegorical figure of virtue, but a simple angel.
Similarly, south side and also starting the choir the following figures are observed:
- 1 st arc: v — Divine Wisdom: virtue, helmeted head, bare chest, holds in his right hand a shield and left the Book of Wisdom with seven seals topped lamb; this closed book means that judgments of Wisdom are hidden to men. u — Divine Love: she wears a crown and a scepter on his chest with a radiant sun.
- 2 e arc: t — Divine Justice: his feet resting on a globe, she holds in his right hand a sword and left an apple, the forbidden fruit, fishing symbol. S — Perfection: A woman strokes calm and severe bends over a circle, compass in hand.
- 3 e arc: r — The liberality: she holds a cross and a cornucopia. Q — Mercy: she holds a palm and behind it stands a bird.
- 4 th arc: p — Goodness: it tramples a tiara. O — The Benignity: A flame illuminates his face to express his eagerness to do good, she holds in her right hand a full scholarship to indicate the distribution of largesse and key in the left hand the head of an elephant, an animal that serves as a guide in the bush.
- 5 e arc: n — Patience: it has its hands tied by a straitjacket, feet shackled and tearful glances skyward. M — Innocence: it crowns a lamb.
- 6 th arc: s — Humility and modesty: She clasped hands and downcast eyes
The choir is decorated with paneling forming a huge altarpiece, which has been repeatedly pointed out similarities with that of Saint-Pierre church Avignon. From either side of the large central painting of the Assumption, painted in Rome in 1680 by Reynaud Levieux, there are statues of St. Peter with the keys, Saint Laurent and his grill, St. Paul and his sword, and St. pankration.
Фонтан «древний человек» (1560)
Fontaine de l’Homme sauvage (1560)
Probably sculpted in 1560 the statue of the wild man wears a crown at her feet the arms of the city and holds a vine. The basin is redone in 1864 and the barrel of the fountain. The statue of yellow sandstone is only slightly wounded during the destruction of 1944. In 1977, the Colmar sculptor Frédéric Schicke replaces the old statue by a copy of pink sandstone.
partage de la ville
В девятнадцатом веке, три владыки разделяют на общий запрет и доходы: Священной Римской империи, господство Ribeaupierre и что из Holandsberg. В 1431 году король Сигизмунд даровал городу те же привилегии, что и имперских городов Эльзаса (Decapolis). Жители города разработали торговлю вином. В шестнадцатом веке Ammerschwihr опыт реального развития, о чем свидетельствуют великолепные здания и здания, некоторые из которых до сих пор видны сегодня: Башня Bourgeois (1434), башня Rascals (1535), отель из город, большая церковь между 1564 и 1585.
In the nineteenth century, three lords share the communal ban and income: the Holy Roman Empire, the lordship of Ribeaupierre and that of Holandsberg. In 1431, King Sigismund granted the city the same privileges as the imperial cities of Alsace (Decapolis). The citizens of the city developed the wine trade. In the sixteenth century Ammerschwihr experience real development, as evidenced by the magnificent buildings and buildings, some of which are still visible today: the tower of Bourgeois (1434), the tower of Rascals (1535), the hotel of city, larger church between 1564 and 1585.
Tour des Fripons (1608)
Башня Rascals была возведена в 1608 году, хотя на фундаменте предыдущей. Оснащенная впечатляющим смертельными панелями, она когда-то защищала вход в город. Используемая в качестве тюрьмы во второй половине семнадцатого века и на протяжении всего восемнадцатого века, башня Rascals была восстановлена после Второй мировой войны. Она классифицирована как исторический памятник в 1931 году.
Часовня святого Венделином расположен к западу от двери Haute, на развилке дороги к Labaroche и Trois Epis. Он был расположен в тринадцатом веке в небольшой деревушке известный Катценбах. Впервые упоминается в 1325 году как «альтер запрет» (старая школа), место было под защитой святого Венделин. Топонимы сохранил память, одну из долин называющих Wendlingsthal. В восемнадцатом веке, Санкт-Венделин часовня снова в центре внимания. Пасхальный понедельник 1793, полихромная терракотовая статуэтка начиная с конца пятнадцатого века, представляя Деву и болезненными, украшающие алтарь Trois Epis был помещен на алтарь Святого Венделином часовни затем переехал в приходская церковь Святой Екатерины. Статуя была настолько безопасна на протяжении революционного периода, в то время как большинство предметов культа и церковной мебели были проданы на аукционе. После революции, статуя была заменена 17 апреля 1804 в часовне Св Венделином и большая процессия принесла 2 июля 1804 в Труа-Эпи на своем первоначальном месте преданности. Часовня была перестроена в 1878-1880 гг. Он подвергается деградации с декабря 1944 по январь 1945 г. После внесения первого восстановления в 1988 году, город Амершвир продолжался в период между 1998 и 1999 по дальнейшей работе на внешнем здании. Финансирование, предоставляемое муниципалитета при финансовой поддержке Министерства культуры и массовых коммуникаций, под резервного копирования незащищенных качества зданий, расположенных в сельской местности, а также общий совет Верхней Rhin4.
The Chapel of St. Wendelin is located west of the Haute door, at the fork of the road to Labaroche and Trois Epis. It was located in the thirteenth century in a small hamlet known for Katzenbach. First mentioned in 1325 as «alter ban» (old school), the place was under the protection of St. Wendelin. Place names has preserved the memory, one of the valleys naming Wendlingsthal. In the eighteenth century, St. Wendelin chapel is again in the spotlight. Easter Monday 1793, the polychrome terracotta statuette dating from the late fifteenth century, representing the Virgin and painful adorning the altar of Trois Epis was placed on the altar of St. Wendelin chapel then moved to parish church St. Catherine. The statue was so safe throughout the revolutionary period, while most objects of worship and church furniture were sold in auction. After the Revolution, the statue was replaced April 17, 1804 in the St. Wendelin chapel and a large procession brought the July 2, 1804 in Trois-Epis on its original place of devotion. The chapel was rebuilt in 1878-1880. It undergoes degradation from December 1944 to January 1945. After making a first restoration in 1988, the city of Ammerschwihr proceeded between 1998 and 1999 to further work on the exterior building. The funding provided by the municipality with funding from the Ministry of Culture and Communication, under backup unprotected quality buildings located in rural areas, and the general council of Upper Rhin4.
Chapel at the entrance of the village, Station Street. The building is currently being restored. Built originally in 1535, the Saint Eloi chapel serves as a place of pilgrimage for Ammerschwihr community. Closed during the Revolution, it was reopened in 1804 after being restored by volunteers. In 1944, during the liberation of the village, the chapel was seriously damaged, it will almost immediately repaired. In 1957, the prisoners of war of the Haute-Savoie offer the bell cast by Annecy Paccara Establishments that adorns the belfry of the chapel.
Часовня на въезде в деревню, Вокзальной улицы. Здание в настоящее время восстанавливается. Построенный первоначально в 1535 году, часовня Сент-Элой служит местом паломничества для Ammerschwihr сообщества. Вопрос закрыт во время революции, он был вновь открыт в 1804 году после того, как восстанавливается добровольцами. В 1944 году во время освобождения села, часовня была серьезно повреждена, она будет почти немедленно устраняться. В 1957 году военнопленные из Верхней Савойи предлагают колокол, отлитый по Анси Paccara заведений, украшающая колокольню часовни.
Château de Meywihr (1279)
На виноградниках у подножия гор Вогезы, остается основой квадратной башни старого замка города Meywihr в 1279 году в деревне, многие памятники были чудесным образом избавлены от войны.
Остатки часовни Meywihr в настоящее время дом наименьшее замкнутое Эльзас, под названием «Le Clos дю Meywihr» культивируемое поле Андре Tempé5.
In the vineyards at the foot of the Vosges mountains, remains the basis of the square tower of the old castle of Meywihr city in 1279. In the village, many monuments were miraculously spared by the wars.
The remains of the chapel Meywihr currently house the smallest closed Alsace, called «Le Clos du Meywihr» cultivated by the field André Tempé5.
- des maisons anciennes dans la Grande-Rue
- le poutre de gloire à l’arc triomphal datant du xve siècle
- le Christ des Rameaux du xvie siècle
- l’escalier de la tribune du xvie siècle.
Терруар Kaefferkopf revealed itself in 1338 with a quote in the land registry of Abayye of Pairis in Ammerschwihr. Also note its presence in several books and theses in the XIXth and XXth centuries. In 1931, the vineyard owners in the town of Ammerschwihr, high quality and commercial success of their wines, need to protect the use of the name «Kaefferkopf» with the Tribunal de Grande Instance de Colmar. Thus, 40 years before the onset of the AOC Alsace Grand Cru, Kaefferkopf became the first locality to be recognized by a judicial delimitation in 1932. Since then, all winemakers embarked on a respect for the land, the wine tradition and wine quality. Authenticity, awarded the Grand Cru classification in 2007.
51st star in the sky of wines from Alsace, Kaefferkopf emphasizes its quality, hispanic and difference.
The ‘terroir’ of Kaefferkopf is seen for the first ime in 1338 in a citation in cadastre of the Abbaye of Pairis at Ammerschwihr. It is said to be the first locality recognised in 1925 by a legal demarcation 40 years before the AOC Grand Cru.
The authenticity of the Kaefferkopf was recognised as an appellation Grand Cru in 2007. The name Kaefferkopf signifies ‘cockroach head’
describing the shape of the summit of the hill.
In the commune of Ammerschwihr, the 71,65 hectares of vines are divided into two distinct zones at an altitude of between 250 and 360 metres
of gentle slope exposed to both the south and south east. The grape varieties of riesling, pinot gris and gewurtztraminer bloom in this Grand Cru in dark soil saturated in calcium and magnesium; granite in the higher vines chalk and sandstone in the lower vines. These grape varieties can be combined as required, a specification recognised since 1932 even before the notion of a Name of Origin had been formulated.
The Grand Cru wines of Alsace Kaefferkopf are highly reputed and known for their elegance and powerful aroma.
Producer among the very best in Alsace, offering biodynamic Grands Crus Kaefferkopf, Rangen, Marckrain and Schlossberg, from a total of 14 ha. Expresses the variation in the terroir of Kaefferkopf by means of two different Riesling cuvées, Granite and Nicolas. Pinot Blanc Vielles Vignes is always very good and affordable. The owner Jean Schaetzel is also teacher at the wine college in Rouffach.
Martin Schaetzel winery is located in the small village of Ammerschwihr; in the heart of Alsatian vineyard, in one of the most beautiful valley and on the wine route. The winery produces its wines with the greatest of care, to preserve natural equilibrium and terroir. The vineyard has been a part of the family tradition since 1803.
Since the beginning of 30’s, Martin Schaetzel has bottled its own harvest. He was first motivated by some economic reasons and his will to gain independence from great merchants’ stranglehold. His ambition was to sell his wine to local restaurants and to develop its distribution network beyond Vosges Mountains and Rhine basin.
In 1979, his nephew Jean, fascinated by the notion of terroir and after his oenology studies in Dijon College, took over the vinery and developed its production tools with a great care of his funding values inculcated at young age.
Jean Schaetzel is one of these men with an inconoclastic path, caught up with his faith where as he was considering a career in building industry. He realized that he liked working in the open air and especially attracted by the vineyard he discovered with his uncle.
This latter fell sick, Jean went to his rescue and took over one hectare of crop. This is the beginning of the story…
Today, Jean uses his winery as a viticulture test lab with limiting chemicals because he is convinced that organic farming is the best way to protect environment and terroir. He also teaches viticulture and vinification to Alsatian vineyardmen in Alsace Agricultural Training and Promotion Centre.
“Everything I teach, I have tested it.
If it works for me, why wouldn’t it work for others?”
In 1998, Jean converts its winery to organic farming and obtained Ecocert and Demeter labels.
Etienne Simonis is a young, organically oriented producer with a very promising development since the take-over in 1996. Offers Grands Crus Kaefferkopf and Marckrain and Lieu-dit Vogelgarten in Kientzheim. Simonis harvests late and makes full wines with fruit and minerality, as well as a daring element of volatile acids.
Today our vineyards cover 7 hectares, mostly in Ammerschwihr, but partly in the communes of Bennwihr, Kaysersberg and Sigolsheim.
We have vines on the both the Kaefferkopf and Marckrain grand cru sections.
Most of our plots have now earned the Agriculture Biologique organic farming label, and we also apply biodynamic cultivation methods.
Kaefferkopf grand cru
kaefferkopf.jpgWe have three vine plots on two different soils: granitic and calcareous.
This grand cru section, which obtained this appellation in 2007, covers more than 70 ha. Kaefferkopf has a very long-standing reputation and is one of the very finest Alsace wines. Its name was protected legally as early as 1932, even before the emergence of the AOC (Appellation d’Origine Contrôlée) system.
These elegant wines are powerfully aromatic.
Marckrain grand cru
This grand cru section of more than 50 ha is found to the south of Bennwihr, along the Alsace Wine Route.
It benefits from very favourable south-eastern exposure and Colmar’s microclimate.
In this section we have two plots of Gewurztraminer on marno-calcareous soil.
Marckrain Gewurztraminer is a wine of perfect harmony, full-bodied and powerful with richly-developed, complex aromas.
This section of marno-calcareous soil is found in the commune of Sigolsheim, between the Mambourg and Furstentum grand crus, where it enjoys optimal sun exposure.
These wines combine power and finesse.
Le Clos des Chats clos des chatsmin.jpg
This section of friable granitic soil is in a place known as Katzenstegel. Its perfect south-eastern exposure is optimised by planting the vines on terraces up the hillside.
These isolated plots are planted with Pinot Gris and Riesling which deliver superb flavour and pleasant minerality.
Opening hours: Monday to Saturday, 9h00 to 12h00 and 13h30 to 18h30. Sundays: by appointment only.
Progressive and interesting, organic producers that make wine without sulphur additive. Although the production is a little inconsistent, the most successful half of the wines are simply stunning and well worth a journey. Has always older vintage for sale.
Winemakers from father to son since 1770, BINNER the family operates today11 hectares of vineyards, a large majority in Coteaux and particularly on prestigious Grands Crus, Kaefferkopf, the Schlossberg and Wineck-Schlossberg.
We are owners and operators of our vineyards, grow, harvest, vinify and sell all our harvest and our exclusively Harvest.
Monique, Beatrice and Joseph Christian BINNER are divided the various tasks on the estate with the help of two wine employees, Christian and Philippe, real arms straight, sensitive mind Farmer (in the best sense of the term) that drives us to the estate.
Indeed, both from farm families, they live apart from civilization, in the foothills of the Vosges, in a real small farm.
A quality policy in place for generations, with a serious drop in yields (overall 40% less compared to the average). Our entire vineyard is grassed, to preserve our Terroirs erosion and death soil (microbial activity). Removal of chemical herbicides and fertilizers. Winter plowing. Treatments against pests and diseases following the principles of organic and biodynamic farming (ECOCERT Control). Harvest in October and November, for the entire production area in order to achieve maximum ripeness. exclusively manual harvesting, sorting and always accompanied only when the grapes are ripe.
very slow pneumatic pressing. No addition of yeast, glue or enzyme, sulfur, sugar … on grape juice. Fermentation at low temperature (often more than 6 months) to obtain dry wines (except Late Harvest and Selection de Grains Nobles). Aging on lees in our Foudres Oak Centennial, without adding sulfur or earth filtration. Bottled after at least 11 months of aging in our cellars Underground. Vintages non sulphite and unfiltered. bottle aging for 3 years on average before marketing.
Grape wines , exclusively noble grape varieties of Alsace, available in dry wines or vintages Beatrice. Dry wines made from ripe grapes. Terroirs Wine : A whole palette of predominantly granitic soils with sandstone variants, carbonated, loess, alluvial, with exhibitions and different soil depths. Botrytis wines : Late harvests and Selections de Grains Nobles and other exceptional vintages Sweet, from severe sorting. Elaborated unqiuement in the best years, especially Riesling and Muscat, these nectars reveal a beautiful balance in the tasting, which combines finesse of overripe aromas on the nose, harmony between softness and freshness on the palate, all without heaviness.
Great range of vintages. Original vintages (Bulle That !, White Black, Wine Passerillage, Muscat Kaefferkopf «30» …).
Distillation of Brandy Traditional by Us in respect of Ancestral Traditions
We produce Crémant d’Alsace since 1983, generally only in years when the cold and late climatology permits.
Needless to Crémant «to have», it is necessary to make that «it is good». Some year our continental climate with hot summers, our very solar Indian summers give us too hot, early to make bubbles. So we refrain.
Crémant a 100% natural long.
The foam, which comprises adding yeast and sugars on the basis of dry wine during bottling, allows, for the second fermentation, to obtain the fine and persistent sparkle worthy of the great French bubbles, whether Crémant or champagne. This technique always a little wrinkled my father when it came to adding beet sugar and yeast selected to carry out this operation. So it was in 1992 the first Alsatian winemaker «to foam» his Crémant with concentrated grape juice purchased commercially. Now, since 2004, we chose to make our decision with our own foam grape juice, freshly squeezed as from the next harvest. Leaven, as a baker, is made «house» with our own yeasts, with grapes harvested in our land.
Always prepared without the addition of sulfur or anything, our Crémant d’Alsace are 100% pure fermented grape juice.
We primarily develop our Crémants with noble grape varieties (Riesling, Pinot Gris, Pinot Black).
Quality Producers who succeeds in everything, especially their Grands Crus Kaefferkopf and Mambourg, where the latter gives legendary Muscat. The wine is well balanced and smooth but also very interesting.
The Schoech family have been winegrowers in Ammerschwihr at the heart of the Alsace vineyard for several generations, passing on their passion for the vine and wine from father to son. Indeed, since 1650 their ancestors have worked as sommeliers, vine nurserymen and wine brokers.
A number of objects displayed in the cellar belonged to these ancestors and testify to the family’s attachment to the land.
The grandfather, Léon Schoech was one of the founder members of the famous Saint-Etienne Brotherhood which today still awards the “Sigillés de qualité” quality label.
The house in which his wife, Marie-Gilg, daughter of a grape grower, was born has been reconstructed room by room at the Ecomuseum of Haute-Alsace where it represents the typical winegrower’s house.
Surrounded by vines, the estate has lain at the edge of the village since 1971.
The estate was named after Maurice Schoech, a decisive life force in its development.
The vines are worked using sustainable farming techniques, in harmony with nature just as they were worked 100 years ago. This technique involves us observing the vines closely and using measured and sustainable practices depending on the predefined objective.
Grand Cru Kaefferkopf :
A historic cuvée, it is the only blend authorised along with Altenberg de Bergheim.
A mixed planting of around 25% Riesling and 75% Gewurztraminer.
Very different from each other, these grapes have drawn their sap from the same soil.
They have been harvested, pressed and vinified together to create a unique Alsace wine: the KAEFFERKOPF Grand Cru
Its delicate aromatic notes on the nose and its full and elegant structure on the palate reflect all the magic of the marriage of the grapes and the terroir.
To enjoy with friends accompanied by different coloured and flavoured verrines.
Riesling Grand Cru Kaefferkopf :
This wine comes from two parcels boasting perfect locations, one lying on granite and the other on a sandstone lens.
The parent rock is sometimes up to 30 cm beneath the surface.
Here the roots plunge to the deepest faults and it is from this soil that this wine draws its unique character: a delicate nose of citrus fruits, fresh and silky on the palate with a long and straight finish.
It is a cheerful and lively wine which will enhance any culinary creations based around fresh or sea water fish.
Gewurztraminer Grand Cru Kaefferkopf Domaine Schoech Ammerschwihr Gewurztraminer Grand Cru Kaefferkopf :
From parcels lying on 3 of the 6 hills which make up the Kaefferkopf Grand Cru, this Gewurztraminer reflects all the variety and complexity of this terroir.
It is this clay-granite soil which gives the wine its finesse and its elegance: nuances of roses on the nose, rich and smooth on the palate with a long and slightly smoky finish. Its balance and its smoothness make it the perfect wine for you and your guests to enjoy as an aperitif, served with exotic cuisine or with a fruit tart or quite simply to savour on its own.
Muscat Grand Cru Mambourg Domaine Schoech Ammerschwihr Muscat Grand Cru Mambourg :
The marl-limestone soil, the steep, south-facing slope, an old vine planted in tight rows and an aromatic grape variety par excellence:
The perfect alchemy for creating a delicate wine which reflects the terroir.
From the nose to the palate you discover the delicate perfume of the Muscat combined with the richness and vivaciousness which underline this wine.
It will delight guests when served as an aperitif and pleasantly surprise them when served with a strawberry pastry.
Pinot Gris Grand Cru Mambourg Domaine Schoech Ammerschwihr Pinot Gris Grand Cru Mambourg :
The Pinot Gris vines are situated on the prow of this sunny terroir.
They give rise to a wine full of character which fully expresses the strength and the structure of this terroir.
Its deep colour unveils a lovely radiance. The complex nose is highlighted by light aromas and a hint of minerality.
The palate is treated to an explosion of fruits and a soft and balanced finish. It is an opulent wine without being heavy which can be served as an aperitif and which is the perfect accompaniment to any dishes based around foie gras.
Crémant d’Alsace :
Made from Pinot Blanc and Auxerrois, this crémant is produced using the same method as that of champagne.
We have selected a brut Crémant for its fine bubbles, its aromatic elegance and its freshness.
Stable, organic producers with Grands Crus Kaefferkopf and Wineck-Schlossberg. The wine is fresh, spicy and combine power and finesse.
Monday to Friday 9.00 to 12.00 and 14.00 to 18.00
he 12 ha. property situated mainly on the Ammerschwihr and Katzenthal plateau employs a team of four people who take care of the various jobs associated with the vines, the wine and its commercialisation.
All of our production is biodynamic and are certified AB and Demeter.
Wine growing has been a passion shared by generations of Frederic’s family: Bernadette Mayer and Jerome Geschickt, both issue of the same village of Ammerschwihr.
In the absence of a cooperative and as with the majority of wine growers in the village, the grapes were sold to a negociant. The vineyards were of a surface are of 2 to 3 hectares. In 1950 the father of Bernadette, Jerome Meyer was one of the first to bottle his wine in the property we now occupy.
At that time Jerome and Bernadette were living in the family home, Geschickt, rue du Cerf, exercising their craft as wine growers and in 1955 decided to bottle their production. The farm grew in size with the purchase of new land and with the acquisition of the Maison Meyer in 1975 where they now live.
Their two sons joined the business, Christophe in 1981 and Frederic in 1992. Although officially retired in 1990 and 1994, Jerome and Bernadette remained active in the business for many years. The death of Christophe in December 2002 required a reorganisation of the business.
Today Frederic continues to run the business with passion with the aid of three other people, one of whom is his nephew, Arnaud. The legal structure since 1987 was a GAEC; now an EARL.The cultivated surface area is currently 12 hectares.
The vines of the Grand Cru d’Alsace Winech-Schlossberg are situated in the communes of Katzenthal and Ammerschwihr, 8 kilometres to the wests of Colmar. Hidden in a closed valley and sheltered from the dominant winds, the 27,40 hectares of the Wineck-Schlossberg vines are to be found between 270 and 420 metres altitude on steep hills exposed to the south east, benefiting from maximum sunshine on mixed rocky granite.
The Riesling (9ha), the gewurtztraminer (3ha) and the pinot gris (0.6ha) bloom in this Grand Cru. The wines of Wineck-Schlossberg are characterised by their subtlety and floral nature. The Rieslings especially have a good acidity and are light and rich at the same time. They are typical wines et de garde.
- Pét’Nat! Pétillant naturel de Muscat (sans sulfite ajouté*)
- Crémant d’Alsace « Double Zéro » blanc (sans sulfite ajouté)
- Crémant d’Alsace «Double zéro» rosé (sans sulfite ajouté*)
- Crémant d’Alsace Classique
- Crémant d’Alsace Rosé
- Crémant d’Alsace Millésimé
Christophe Freyburger is a young producer who took over the responsibility of 7 hectares in 2002. The wines are aromatic, fruity, and inviting, and the prices are still very low.
From monday to saturday
9am — 12am & 13.30pm — 6pm
On sunday and holidays, by appointment only.
Closed on december 25 & 26,
january 1st and annual holiday.
Produced from our downhill and plain vines, they express the typical features of every grape variety through a wide aroma range. The varieties are : Riesling, alsatian Muscat, Pinot Blanc, Pinot Gris,Gewurztraminer and Pinot Noir. From apéritif through a good meal to dessert, they will know how to highlight the dish they are served with, but won’t dominate the flavors.
Produced from a vinification dictated by ancestral methods from the Champagne region. White or rosé, they are prone to any festive and sparkling time ! Brut white for apéritifs and parties, brut rosé for an eccentric apéritif as well, or with dessert…
Old vines, gastronomic, late harvest, in this range are available some original wines, sometimes atypical but also ephemeral…
Vieilles Vignes (Old Vines)
These cuvées are produced from vines aged 30 to 45 years.
Low yield, later harvests, selective sorting. They are wines made for pleasure, in which can be found the typical features of the grape variety, mixed with over-maturation. Riesling Vieilles Vignes, Auxerrois Vieilles Vignes and Gewurztraminer Vieilles Vignes…
As the name suggests, this cuvée is intended for fine meals. Plot selection, harvest at the most appropriate time, dry vinification : such criteria allow for recognisable wines, expressing their terroir. Pinot Gris and Gastronome go well with poultry, white meat…
Tentation Boisé & Tentation Rosé
Pinot Noir, being the only red alsatian variety, is a delicate one, which grapes are black. It’s only the berry maceration that gives it this beautiful cherry red color, and only the Pinot Noir coming from our best plots are vinified during 18 months in new oak barrels. This vinification brings slight toasty and woody notes, without masking the lovely typical red fruit features.
Tentation Rosé comes from our Pinot Noir variety as well, vinified in Rosé, with a short maceration time, allowing a beautiful typical colour. Cool and fruity, it reminds of red berries. A friendly wine for friendy moments, on terrace… Why not try it ?
Vendanges Tardives (Late Harvests)
Exceptional wines, syrupy, yellow-gold colored… Rich, complex, subtle, here is what defines very well these wines, produced fromGewurztraminer and Pinot Gris varieties.
Wine of patience and made for ageing… Patience, as only a nice end of season will allow the harvest of grapes at desired ripeness. For ageing because, although they are naturally rich in residual sugar, these wines are «held» by an also natural acidity, which can keep them up to 15 years in bottle.
Wines coming from denser, hillside plots, grown on sloping grounds, with a more marked geological identity (granite and limestone) and a south / south-east exposure… Maturity, healthy and sorted harvest, low yield are the ultimate conditions allowing to produce these terroir wines.
The Terrasses (Terraced)
They come from the place known as Katzenstegel, on a south-east exposed granite hill. The Riesling and Pinot Gris plots are terraced, in order to take advantage of the best this soil can offer while respecting its morphology. The terroir gives these wines a wonderful and fine minerality.
Grand Cru Kaefferkopf — Read the (french) Wikipedia article
This terroir, quoted since 1338, is the jewel of our dear wine growing town. Certified «Grand Cru» in 2007, its vines spread on 71Ha of deep granite and limestone soils. They are south / south-east exposed and benefit from a microclimate allowing an optimal maturity for its grapes, while keeping their sweet coolness.
From our plots grow Riesling, Pinot Gris and Gewurztraminer. Elegance, aromatic palette, length, minerality : Kaefferkopf‘s expression in all its majesty. Distinctive feature of this «La Trilogie»Grand Vintage : the harmonious blend of Riesling, Pinot Gris andGewurztraminer, ending in a wine with rare delicacy.