Mont-de-Marsan

Mont-de-Marsan, the Landes’
administrative centre since
1790, is set on the banks of
the Midou and Douze rivers,
which join to form the
Midouze. Nicknamed the
“Three-River Town”, Mont-de-
Marsan is a lively centre
of trade. Top Spanish bullfighters
also come to take
part in bullfights here.

 

 

 

Musée
Despiau-Wlérick
Donjon de Lacataye, 6 place
Marguerite-de-Navarre. Tel (05) 58
75 00 45. # May–Aug: daily; Sep–
Apr: Wed–Mon. 8
The Musée Despiau-Wlérick,
in the Donjon Lacataye, a
14th-century fortress, is the
only museum in France that is
devoted to French figurative
sculpture of the first half of
the 20th century. On show
here is the work of artists
from Mont-de-Marsan,
including Charles Despiau
(1874–1946) and Robert
Wlérick (1882–1944). Other
exhibits include works by Alfred Auguste Janniot
(1889–1969), a sculptor of
the Art Deco period.

Église de la Madeleine
Rue Victor-Hugo.
This Neo-Classical church,
built in the early 19th century,
contains a high altar created
by the Mazetti brothers in the
18th century.
Walking up towards the
Douze river, visitors will see
two Romanesque houses
at 6 and 24 bis rue
Maubec, built of the
local shelly stone.

Parc Jean
Rameau
Entrance on place
Francis-Planté.
This 6-ha (15-acre)
park is named after
Jean Rameau
(1858–1942), the
Landes novelist
and poet. It was
created in 1793 and
now contains
sculptures and
Japanese-style
gardens. Some parts of
the park may be closed due
to storm damage.

Quartier Saint-Médard
East of the centre is a 23-ha
(57-acre) zoological garden,
the Parc de Nahuque. At the
end of avenue de Villeneuve.
is the Église Saint-Médard.