Среди достопримечательностей Кана со средневековья сохранилось немало красивых церквей.
Церковь св. Петра. Построенная в период с 13 по 16 вв, она отражает переход между различными стилями: высокая и пламенеющая готика со временем уступила Ренессансу. К храму примыкает великолепная башня 114-го века, высотой почти 80 метров. Церковь находится в процессе реставрации.Place Saint-Pierre
NOTRE DAME DE FROIDE RUE
Мало что сохранилось от первоначальной простенькой романской церкви. Различные части церкви были перестроены в 14 — 16 вв. Отличительной чертой этого храма можно считать два нефа, расположенных рядом друг с другом. Другая особенность церкви — фасад с великолепным порталом в стиле пламенеющей готики, который датируется 15 веком.
Place Pierre Bouchard
Rue Arcisse-de-Caumont Its foundations probably date back to the 10th century. Exposed along the city’s ramparts, it was rebuilt after the English seats of 1346 and 1417. Ruined in 1944, the building preserved an octagonal lantern-tower from the first half of the 15th century and, standing against the chevet, an equestrian statue from the turn of the 13th century representing Emperor Constantine.
SAINT-SAUVEUR DU MARCHÉ
Construction of this church got underway in the 11th century on the lower sections of the transept crossing and the first floor of the church tower. The second floor of the tower was built at the end of the 11th century and still displays its Romanesque proportions. The Flamboyant Gothic style nave with a rib vault and choir of Renaissance style were built at the end of the 15th century.
Rue de Branville At the turn of the 12th century, a church replaced a sanctuary dedicated to Saint Michel, built in this high place after the Archangel appeared to the Bishop of Avranches in a dream. The side tower and nave of this Romanesque church are still standing, while the choir and flat chevet, higher than the nave, were rebuilt in the 15th century in Flamboyant Gothic style.
Rue Saint-Jean Built between the 14th and 16th centuries to replace a Romanesque church, this Flamboyant Gothic style church also has a superb nave inside and lantern-tower with sculpted walls harking back to Renaissance times.
Rue Saint-Nicolas This church was built circa 1083 as a result of the foundation of the Men’s Abbey by William the Conqueror. The sobriety of the building where its architectural design provides its only decoration and its outstanding clarity make it a valuable and perfect witness of Norman Romanesque religious architecture.
NOTRE DAME DE LA GLORIETTE
This church was built to replace the original church destroyed on July 7 1944 in the last major air-raid over the city. The work began in 1954 and the church was consecrated in 1959. Following the design laid down by Henry Bernard, the whole building was made out of reinforced concrete, and formed a mandorla shape, evoking « a germ of wheat, with its altar » . It elliptical vault is held up by 44 radiating supports. The walls of the church are made up of 4500 pieces of glass in 50 different colours. The organ was purchased second-hand from the church of Saint Pierre-le-Vieux in Strasbourg.
This church, consecrated in 1689, is a typical example of the architecture of the Counter-Reform movement. Originally known as Sainte-Cathérine-des-Arts, it was closed to religious observance in 1762 when the Jesuit order was suppressed. It was returned to use as a church in 1802, becoming Notre Dame (Our Lady). Built on a basilican ground plan, it façade is heavily influenced by the church of Gesù in Rome. This church is the most well endowed in Caen for its furnishings, notably the high altar surmounted by a baldaquin from the Ladies’ Abbey. The cupola over the transept crossing represents the glorification of Saint-Jean Eudes. Today the church is used for concerts provided by the Maitrise de Caen (boys’ choir).