Fécamp (Фекан)

Fécamp (Фекан)

Страница в разработке!
FRAMED BY IMPRESSIVE WHITE CLIFFS, THIS HISTORIC COASTAL TOWN OFFERS A HEADY COCKTAIL OF ATTRACTIONS. FÉCAMP IS BOTH PORT, RESORT, DUCAL TOWN, PILGRIMAGE DESTINATION, ART CENTRE AND THE HOME OF A FAMOUS LIQUEUR.
Étretat (Этрета), Нормандия, Франция
Surrounded by the tallest cliffs in Normandy, reaching over 300 feet in height, Fécamp stands in a dramatic location along the Alabaster Coast. The setting attracted attention early. In the Dark Ages, a significant Benedictine abbey was established here. When it claimed to have miraculously acquired a phial of Christ’s blood, pilgrims flocked to its abbey church. Several Dukes of Normandy lavished money on Fécamp Abbey; in fact, two of them were buried in the abbey church.

 

Путеводитель по Фекану:


Добраться в Фекан:

На машине:На машине в Fécamp (Фекан), Нормандия, Франция - достопримечательности, карта и маршрут, что посмотреть в Fécamp (Фекан), путеводитель по Fécamp (Фекан), как добраться в Fécamp (Фекан)

  • Как добраться на машине в Fécamp (расстояние, время в пути, стоимость платных дорог, парковки).
  • Из Парижа (2:15): A13 направление на Caen, съезд 25 : Fécamp / Bourg-Achard
  • Из Амьена (1:45): A29 направление  на Le Havre, съезд 8 : Fécamp / Fauville-en-Caux
  • Из Кана (1:30): A29 направление  на Amiens, съезд 7 : Fécamp / Bolbec

На самолете: На самолете в Fécamp (Фекан), Нормандия, Франция - достопримечательности, карта и маршрут, что посмотреть в Fécamp (Фекан), путеводитель по Fécamp (Фекан), как добраться в Fécamp (Фекан)

На поезде: вокзала нет. На поезде в Fécamp (Фекан), Нормандия, Франция - достопримечательности, карта и маршрут, что посмотреть в Fécamp (Фекан), путеводитель по Fécamp (Фекан), как добраться в Fécamp (Фекан)

  • Из Парижа — вокзал Paris — St Lazare (2:30) : линия поездов Paris / Bréauté / Fécamp (пересадка на автобус в Bréauté — всего 20.60 €, 2:40 в пути)
  • Как добраться из Парижа/ Руана / Гавра в Фекан

На автобусе: Fécamp (Фекан), Нормандия, Франция - достопримечательности, карта и маршрут, что посмотреть в Fécamp (Фекан), путеводитель по Fécamp (Фекан), как добраться в Fécamp (Фекан)

По городу: пешком или на автобусе

НАВЕРХ


Достопримечательности Фекана:

Fécamp was also one of the earliest coastal bases for the dukes of Normandy, becoming a favoured residence, with grand castle. Here in Fécamp in 1035, Duke Robert I declared, to the surprise of his noble followers, that he was heading off on a pilgrimage to the Holy Land. He got his lords to swear that his seven-year-old illegitimate son, William, would succeed him should he die. He did die on his travels, so the boy found himself thrust into power. After surviving and winning terrible power struggles, William would return to Fécamp at Easter 1067 for a grand Norman celebration of his elevation to the throne of England, which he believed had occurred by divine providence.
Getting back down to earth, or rather, to the sea, fishing was the mainstay of the Fécamp community down the centuries. This was one of France’s main cod-fishing ports, expeditions heading off as far as Newfoundland. The port today caters as much to yachts as to fishing boats. However, Fécamp remains proud of its fishing tradition.
So too does it of its production of an exotic liqueur, Benedictine, produced here in the most elaborate of factories imaginable. A 19th century businessman,
Alexandre Le Grand, rediscovered a herbal liqueur recipe left by a Venetian monk who had served at Fécamp Abbey in the 16th century. Claiming medicinal properties for his tipple, he turned it into a bestseller. He was also passionate about art and left extraordinary collections for visitors to his Fécamp palace of industry.

The incredible story of Bénédictine® began in 1510 in the Abbey of Fécamp, in Normandy, France, when the Benedictine monk, Dom Bernardo Vincelli, created a secret elixir that was to become famous for years to come.
Three hundred and fifty years later, in 1863, Alexandre Le Grand, a merchant and collector of religious art, discovered the lost recipe for this elixir in his collection. Intrigued by the discovery and after many attempts, he successfully recreated the mysterious liqueur that he called Bénédictine®.

Distilled and aged in a flamboyant palace, built in Fécamp in tribute to this unique liqueur, Bénédictine® is a subtle alchemy of 27 different plants and spices.
The rule of Saint Benedict of Nursia, adopted in 670 as the sole monastic rule, spread far and wide. The main activities of the Benedictine monks were prayer, manual labour and intellectual work.
Saint Benedict, as patriarch of the monks of Western Europe, stipulated that his spiritual sons should devote themselves to works of piety but he also encouraged study. The abbeys, as incubators of learning, were both citadels of prayer and work centres. Numerous abbeys boasted brilliant alchemists, philosophers and herbalists.
The Fécamp Abbey is a perfect example. The Benedictine monks at Fécamp, as elsewhere, were particularly interested in the techniques of distillation and the study of plants.

Dom Bernardo Vincelli

+++

Le Palais Bénédictine (Benedictine Palace): this truly palatial building makes a grand impression in central Fécamp, built in neo-Gothic and neo-Renaissance styles for Alexandre Le Grand, the entrepreneur who developed the alcoholic herbal drink, Benedictine. The liqueur has been produced in this exceptional site, and exported all over the world, for over a century. The Palais Bénédictine contains three centres of interest: the distillery in which the famous liquor is prepared; its collection of religious works, mainly from the 15th and 16th centuries, displayed just as they were at the end of the 19th century and a contemporary art gallery.

To house his precious liqueur, Alexandre Le Grand decided to have a palace-cum-factory built to represent the glory of his Bénédictine®. To implement such a grandiose project, he called upon the architect Camille Albert, a rival of Viollet-le-Duc, whose record ranked him as one of the specialists in Gothic architecture.

Bottle of Benedictine Dom

The new buildings were inaugurated in 1888. No-one, however, could have imagined the tragic fate of the site. On January 12, 1892, the sky of Fécamp was painted blood-red; the Palais was in flames.
The Palais was totally destroyed as well as Alexandre Le Grand’s own home. Fires were not unusual in factories at the end of the 19th Century, but on that particular day in 1892 it was a case of arson.
Where other people would have preferred to turn the page and forget as soon as possible, Alexandre Le Grand decided to have a bigger, even more handsome palace built.The new project came into being under the guidance of Camille Albert and Ferdinand Marrou, a famous wrought-iron specialist of the time.

In 1898, the year Alexandre Le Grand died, the new Palais opened its doors and was officially inaugurated on July 25, 1900.
The new Palais, half-Gothic, half-Renaissance, surprised everyone by its audacity and originality. With its countless architectural references, the Bénédictine Palais is a subtle harmony of extravagance and sobriety.
Moreover, its architecture is the affirmation of the continuation of the centuries-old heritage of the Rule of Saint Benedict. Travellers coming to Fécamp, by land or by sea, are guided by the bell-tower of the Palais.
Whilst the originality of the exterior construction is surprising in itself, it is matched by that of the interior architecture. The sheer diversity and opulence of the decoration plunge visitors into a fairyland entirely dedicated to Bénédictine®

Alexandre Le Grand

The Palais is also a sanctuary housing the collections of the
Le Grand family. They are extremely rich and varied, ranging from old books to sculpture, painting and even wrought ironwork.
The library, situated in the Gothic room, includes over a thousand volumes essentially from Fécamp Abbey. The Books of Hours, containing the prayers of the Church, are a fine example. Dating from before the invention of printing, they were transcribed by hand by monks and decorated with countless illuminations.
The Renaissance room of the museum houses a unique collection of keys. Some skilfully wrought, others plainer, large and small, they make up an original collection started in the 14th Century and later acquired by Alexandre Le Grand.
Today, the Palais continues its artistic quest with regular exhibitions in its gallery of contemporary art by artists such as Warhol, Dali or Zao Wou-Ki.

http://benedictinedom.com/lda/

Palais Bénédictine
110 rue Alexandre Le Grand
76400 Fécamp

Tel: +33 (0)2 35 10 26 10

NON-GUIDED TOUR
Adults: 8,50 € / pers
Young people 12 / 18 yo: 3,40 €
Children under 12: free
Family rate 2 adults + children 12 – 18 yo: 18,30 €

GUIDED TOUR
French, English or German
Duration of the tour — 1h15 + tasting:
. group of 20 people and more: 6,60 € / pers
. small group of 10 to 19 people: 7,70 € / pers
NON-GUIDED TOUR
Your groups will be visiting Palais Bénédictine as they like,
using a brochure, or guided by your own guides.
This booklet is available in French, English, German, Dutch, Spanish, Italian and Russian.
Estimate time of the visit — 1h to 1h30 + tasting
. group of 20 people and more: 5 € / pers
. small group of 10 to 19 people: 6 € / pers

GUIDED TOUR
Guided visits for individuals at 3.00 pm:
— every Saturday, Sunday and public holidays,
— and every day from 4th July to 6th September.
Adults: 15 € / pers
Young people 12 / 18 yo: 3,90 €
Children under 12: free
NEW «Visite Passion», exclusive and VIP guided tour
(by appointment only): 25 € / pers
Bénédictine cocktails workshops, animated by a recognised expert,
(by appointment only): 45 € / pers (over 18’s only)
Open every day from 13 Feb to 31 Dec 2015
(Except 1st May, 25th December).
Opening times are depending on seasonal periods, please ask.

Opening Times
13 Feb to 10 Apr: 10.30 — 12.30 and 2.30 — 5.30 pm
11 Apr. to 3 July: 10.00 — 1.00 and 2.00 — 6.30 pm
4 July to 6 Sept: 10.00 to 6.30 pm non-stop
(ticket office closes at 6.00 pm)
7 Sept to 16 Oct: 10.00 — 1.00 and 2.00 — 6.30 pm
17 Oct to 11 Nov: 10.30 — 12.30 and 2.30 — 5.30 pm
12 Nov to 18 Dec: Morning contact us and 2.30 — 5.00 pm
19 Dec to 31 Dec: 10.30 — 12.30 and 2.30 — 5.30 pm
Morning and Afternoon: the last admission is one hour earlier
and the shop closing time is 30 minutes later.
Tea Room and Shop:
10.00 – 7.00 pm non-stop: week-ends in May, June and September.
Closing Days: May 1st and December 25th.
Free entrance for the driver and guide for each group.
Car park close to the Palais.
Le Palais Ducal (Ducal Palace): opposite the abbey church, the remains of the castle here recall the attachment of the Dukes of Normandy to Fécamp.

Palais Ducal The Palais Ducal (ducal palace) showcases Fécamp’s influence during the Middle Ages. Constructed during the 10th, 11th, and 12th centuries, this castle was home to the first dukes of Normandy. It was also where William the Conqueror celebrated his victory at Hastings in 1067, making Fécamp a worthwhile stop on the William the Conqueror tourist route. The city’s original ramparts are still visible in the historic town centre.

Place des Ducs Richard 76400 Fécamp
L’Abbatiale de la Trinité (abbey church of the Trinity): this huge medieval abbey church, longer than Notre-Dame Cathedral in Paris, has Romanesque origins but was mainly built in the early Gothic period. The edifice contains numerous gems, including the chapel of the Virgin and its 14th century stained glass, the remains of the 15th century rood screen, 16th century Italian-style balustrades and a bold baldaquin in gilded wood from the 18th century. Two Norman dukes, Richard I and Richard II, were buried here.

Abbatiale de la Ste Trinité The abbey’s imposing size can be explained by its historical importance. Founded by Richard II, Duke of Normandy, the abbey is a pilgrimage site housing the relic of the Précieux-Sang (Precious Blood). Member of the Historic Route of Norman Abbeys.

Place des Ducs Richard 76400 Fécamp
Church of Saint-Etienne:A dramatic shell of a church, all that remains of this vast 16th century edifice are the transept, apse and south door.

Eglise St Etienne Originally constructed in the Middle Ages, the church was rebuilt in the 16th century, yet remained unfinished until the 19th century. Built on a promontory overlooking the harbour, the church is favoured by sailors during the annual Saint-Pierre celebration in February.

Place St Etienne 76400 Fécamp

 

Cap Fagnet et le Parc Eolien

At 110 metres in height, the Cap Fagnet offers breathtaking panoramic views of the sea, cliffs, and the port city of Fécamp. An official historic site, it is the site of the sailor’s chapel and also World War II German blockhouses. The Cap Fagnet also houses a bird sanctuary. The site is near the wind farm.

Côte de la Vierge 76400 Fécamp

 

Yport

This fishing village, nestled in a hanging valley, remains engraved in the memories of coastal fishermen. A few capstans and small boats serve as reminders of a time past, when life in Yport revolved around the sea and its sailors ventured to the banks of Newfoundland. Yport remains a quiet and picturesque village.

 

Eglise St Martin

Built by the town’s inhabitants in 1838, the Saint Martin church stands as a symbol of independence. In fact, the village was officially recognized as a municipality in 1842, soon after the completion of the church’s construction. The Saint Martin church houses a magnificent pulpit, a Stations of the Cross produced by a local artist, and ex-votos that showcase Yport’s identity as a fishing village.

DATES AND OPENING HOURS 01-01 / 31-12 : 8h30 — 20h SAM — DIM : 8h30 — 17h

Place de Verdun 76111 Yport

 

 

НАВЕРХ


Карта Этрета

Карта Этрета - Étretat map

НАВЕРХ


Фекан:

 

НАВЕРХ


В окрестностях Фекана

В регионе:

Приведено расстояние и время в пути на машине.

  • Étretat (16 км, 0:25) — великолепное бенедиктинское аббатство, одна из главных достопримечательностей Верхней Нормандии. Здесь делают «бенедиктинский ликер» (Bénédictine) по своему собственному рецепту.
  • Гавр (30 км, 0:40) — крупный порт Нормандии.
  • Honfleur (45км, 0:48) — живописный маленький порт, излюбленное мест имперссионистов.
  • Deauville — Trouville-sur-Mer, (63 км, 1:05) — элитный курорт французской аристократии.
  • Руан (106км, 1:20) — культурный и исторический центр Нормандии. Руанский собор — один из самых значимых готических храмов во Франции. Ему посвятил целую серию полотен Клод Моне. В Руане судили и сожгли на центральной площади Жанну д’Арк.
  • Caen (118км, 1:30) — столица департамента, с впечатляющим собором
  • Живерни (140 км, 2:00) — долгое время здесь жил Клод Моне, можно посетить его дом с марстерской и полюбоваться знаменитым садом, запечатленным на многих шедеврах художника.
  • Bayeux (143 км, 1:45) — уникальный гобелен 12 века, длиной 70 м, лучший музей Дня-Д, посвященный Высадке в Нормандии.

НАВЕРХ

Leave a Reply