Curemonte

 

Погода в Кьюремонте:

Путеводитель:

Curemonte (‘most beautiful villages of France’) is at the southern end of the Limousin region, near the borders with the Lot and Dordogne departments. It is close to two other most beautiful villages — Turenne and Collonges-la-Rouge.

In a lovely setting on a hilltop overlooking the valley of the Sourdoire river, Curemonte is surrounded by the rolling countryside typical of the region. Because of its position on the ridge of a hill, Curemont has lovely views across the surrounding Limousin valleys.

A small village, Curemonte won’t take you long to explore but a visit is highly recommended. It is less ‘modernised’ than many of the most beautiful villages, adding to its charm, and also has less facilities than many. That is, there aren’t lots of gift shops and cafes.

There are three ‘chateaux’ in Curemonte — the Chateau de Plas, the Chateau de Saint-Hilaire, Chateau de la Johannie — around the church in the village itself, which must be something of a world record (although two of them are together and might be seen as one — the older castle is the Chateau de Saint-Hilaire (14th century) with the square towers, the Chateau de Plas is more recent (16th century) and with round towers). The Chateau de la Johannie, next to the market hall, dates from the 15th century.

Curemonte also a church originally dating from the 12th century, and various other interesting buildings and attractive houses — follow the main street through the village and you won’t go far wrong. Take time to explore, and to admire the little details such as the ornate doorways and windows, the rooves of the houses.

The village gives a genuine impression of being little changed through the centuries, best appreciated out of season or early morning when the village is quiet and there are few visitors around.

Interesting footnote: Colette, the renowned French author, stayed here during 1940.

  • It is ranked among the most beautiful villages in France.
  • It has three castles:
    • Château de Plas;
    • Château de Saint-Hilaire;
    • Château de la Johannie.
  • It has three churches:
    • Church of Saint-Barthélemy du Bourg;
    • Church of Saint-Hilaire de la Combe: 11th Century Romanesque church, one of the oldest in the department, which was probably built on Merovingian foundations;
    • The church of Saint-Genest: former parish church, now a Museum of Religious Art.

Происхождение названия

Название Curemonte происходит от латинского «cura montis», что означает сельскую местность, расположенную на горе, здесь скорее скалистый хребет.

Первое упоминание имени

Первое письменное упоминание имени «Curemonte» датируется 860 годом. Оно появляется в Cartulaire аббатства Болье-сюр-Дордонь.

Первый крестовый поход

В 1096 году Раймон де Кюрмонте участвует в первом крестовом походе вместе с графом Тулузским.

Столетняя война

Столетняя война разорила всю страну, и Curemonte пришлось восстановить свой замок.

Война общественного блага

Около 1465 года по приказу Людовика XI деревня Ла Комб была разрушена, за исключением церкви, с запретом на ее восстановление.

Три большие семьи

Curemonte, Cardaillac и Plas — это семьи, которые доминировали в Curemonte на протяжении веков.

 

TO SEE

Curemonte можно посетить пешком. 

Каждое лето ассоциация предлагает бесплатные экскурсии в июле и августе. 

Кроме того , в рамках Дней европейского наследия, несколько бесплатных туров предлагаются по субботам и воскресеньям: замки, благородные дома, в зале, церковь, работа кузнеца, а не Барбакане … 

Все в течение года возможны групповые посещения с небольшим участием. 
Бронирование по телефону 06 80 40 98 63.

Restauration

Restaurant La Barbacane, cuisine corrézienne traditionnelle : 05 55 25 43 29

Ferme-auberge de la grotte, cuisine paysanne : 05 55 25 35 01

Brasserie corrézienne, bières et concerts : 06 08 28 69 05

Cave de Branceilles (3 km), vin rosé, vin rouge, vin paillé, vin bio : 05 55 84 09 01

Marchés d’été, tous les mercredis pendant la saison estivale.

 

SEJOURNER
A CUREMONTE

A small village, Curemonte won’t take you long to explore but a visit is highly recommended. It is less ‘modernised’ than many of the most beautiful villages, adding to its charm, and also has less facilities than many. That is, there aren’t lots of gift shops and cafes.

o explore Curemonte just follow the main street through the heart of the village and you won’t go far wrong: apart from small alleys to the sides the village just has this one main road. Take time to explore, and to admire the little details such as the ornate doorways and windows, the rooves of the houses. There are various other interesting buildings and attractive houses throughout the centre of the village.

In the main square of the village you can see the church, the market hall and the Chateau de la Johannie while on the other side of the square overlooking the valley below is the Maison Perne, now with a substantial contemporary garden: together, the Maison Perne and the garden have been awarded the ‘Patrimoine Francais’ label.

There are three ‘chateaux’ in Curemonte, which must be something of a world record for such a small village: the Chateau de Plas, the Chateau de Saint-Hilaire and the Chateau de la Johannie.

 These three castles are centred around the church in the village itself, although two of them are combined together and might be seen as one — the older of these castles is the Chateau de Saint-Hilaire with the square towers and dates from the 14th century while the Chateau de Plas with the round towers is more recent, having been added in the 16th century. The Chateau de la Johannie, next to the market hall, dates from the 15th century.

The church in Curemonte has origins that date as far back as the 12th century. Follow the ancient street to the right of the church to see several of the most impressive 16th century houses in the village.

An interesting footnote for literary enthusiasts: Colette, the renowned French author, stayed here during 1940.

Places to visit close to Curemonte

There is a marked trail of about seven kilometres that leaves from the centre of Curemonte and provides lovely views of the village and the hills around Curemonte: see the poster at the entrance to the village.

Two further little churches can be seen in the nearby hamlets of Saint-Genest and La Combe. The second of these is for me the most impressive, being a very early (11th century) roman style church which is now also used for artist exhibitions during the summer months. The church of Saint-Genest is a small museum of local religious items.

Curemonte is also close to several other ‘most beautiful villages’ including Turenne and Collonges-la-Rouge so allow plenty of time to explore the region properly! In fact you are spoiled for choice of picturesque villages to visit in the Correze department near Curemonte — you can also easily visit Carennac, Autoire and Loubressac, all three also listed among the ‘most beautiful villages in France’ nearby.

Достопримечательности:

 

uremonte has kept from its prestigious history an extremly rich heritage, i-e : three castles, three churches, six or seven «noble houses», a hall, and various rural houses which have kept their authenticity.

châteaux   The castles surround the church and the hall, in the middle of the village. Two of them belong to the same surrounding wall and have been owned by the same families since the 17th century. The Saint-Hilaire castle, with square towers, is the oldest one : it was built just at the end of the hundred Years’ War ; the Plas castle (with round towers) was built in the middle of the 16th century. 

These castles were owned in 1940 by Bel Gazou, who was the daughter of a famous French writer : Colette. She came there to hide for a few weeks and wrote «Journal à Rebours», which contains some pages mentioning Curemonte in a poetical way.

The third castle («la Johannie») is next to the hall. It was built at the beginning of the 15thcentury and looks much like Saint-Hilaire castle except a high window decorated in the «Renaissance» way, which is a masterpiece.  
  The «noble houses» surrounding this group of buildings were built in the 16th century ; they belong to the officers who served the landlords. The various towers contribute to give the village a fortress aspect.
The main church is a 12th century feodal building, it was modified bit by bit over the centuries, but was fully restaured in the last few years. It is worth visiting.   église et halle

The two other churches are worth visiting too. One is mentioned in the «Historic Monuments List», the other one is in the «Historic Monuments Additional List». They are called after the places where they have benn built : «La Combe» and «Saint-Genest», which are 1,5 km far from Curemonte.

The «La Combe» church was built in the 11thcentury on Merovingian groundings, in a very pure Roman style. It is opened from Easter to All Saints Day and various exhibitions can be visited, i-e : contemporary paintings and sculptures or religious art photographs.  
  The «St-Genest» church was built in the 12th century by Benedictin monks. The parish was linked to Curemonte after the French Revolution. Once its restauration is fully completed, it should become a religious museum. Till then, you can admire remarkable retable and pulpit, and also beautiful wall-paintings dating from the 15th century.

 

Le village
En arrivant par la route des crêtes, qui suit probablement le tracé d’un ancien chemin gaulois, on aperçoit soudain le « profil » de Curemonte, ancienne cité médiévale qui le long d’un promontoire rocheux, s’étire du Nord au sud. On découvre ses châteaux, son clocher à peigne et les tourelles des maisons « nobles » se détachant sur le paysage vallonné de basse Corrèze où pointe le Puy Turlau.
Historique. Si l’on admet que nos lointains ancêtres cherchaient à se défendre, on comprend que, situé sur un éperon rocheux, Curemonte tient une position stratégique. Les Gallo-romains y bâtirent des maisons, peut-être une place fortifiée puis, durant le haut Moyen Âge ce fut au tour des Mérovingiens de s’installer sur ce site : des sarcophages exhumés lors de fouilles récentes, attestent de leur présence. A l’époque féodale, il y eut les premiers seigneurs : des documents révèlent que Raymond de Curemonte, accompagnait son suzerain le vicomte de Turenne, lors de la première croisade en 1096. En 1308, le grand maître de l’ordre de Saint Jean de Jérusalem, Foulques de Villaret donna à sa sœur Jordane, un ancien prieuré qui, devint l’unique commanderie féminine de l’Ordre de Malte. Les bâtiments ont aujourd’hui disparu. Pour témoigner de l’importance de la cité médiévale : trois églises du XlIème siècle et trois châteaux, construits au XIVème et XVème siècle. Et, subsistent encore aussi, des maisons « nobles » reconnaissables à leur tour escalier et aux bas reliefs qui ornent leur porte.
Un des « Plus beaux village de France » Ce label fut décerné par l’association des Plus Beaux Villages de France, le 30 avril 1988.
Trois châteaux 
Au début du XIVème siècle, la famille Saint-Hilaire — descendants de Raymond de Curemonte qui avait participé à la première croisade auprès de son suzerain le vicomte de Turenne — fit construire Saint Hilaire. Ce donjon carré auquel fut ajouté un corps de logis et une tour escalier devint ensuite la propriété des Aymar, puis celle des Cardaillac, une des plus puissantes familles du Quercy. Entre 1450 et 1475, les Plas, rattachés aux Cardaillac, ont fait ériger un autre château. Tout aussi imposant que celui du XIVème siècle, Plas est reconnaissable à ses tours rondes. Construits côte à côte, ces châteaux, entourés d’un mur d’enceinte surmontées de tourelles, étaient défendus, côté Nord par une barbacane qui existait encore en 1875
Par ailleurs, au XIVème siècle, les Jean ou Johan (une autre famille dont le nom apparaît dès 1280 dans les archives, également co-seigneur de Curemonte et vassale du vicomte de Turenne) font construire le petit château de la Johannie et en prenne le nom. En 1460, Marguerite de la Johannie épouse Pierre de Vassal seigneur de la Tourette. Cette famille du Lot vendra ses biens situés à Curemonte à un marchand de Martel. Sa fille Agathe, dotée de La Johannie, épouse Antoine Dambert en 1594. Leurs descendants vendront le château aux Plas à la fin du XVIlème siècle.
Ces trois châteaux qui ont connu bien des propriétaires depuis la révolution ont été récemment restaurés. Il est intéressant de savoir que durant la guerre Colette l’écrivain séjourna quelques semaines dans les anciennes écuries de Plas et de Saint Hilaire.
Trois Églises 
Dans le bourg, l’église de Saint-Barthélemy, patron de Curemonte, fut construite au XIIème siècle. Puis au fil du temps elle fut agrandie des croisillons nord et sud, d’une chapelle, d’une sacristie… ces ajouts ont modifié son plan et son architecture. Au XVIIème, elle fut ornée d’un retable en bois peint qui est maintenant inscrit à l’inventaire supplémentaire des monuments historiques. Aujourd’hui entièrement restaurée, l’église a retrouvé sa polychromie d’origine.
L’église Saint-Hilaire situé à La Combe a gardé sa structure romane d’origine et des chapiteaux ornés qui ajoutent encore à son charme. Des expositions y sont organisées chaque été par les Amis de Curemonte.
Saint Genest, du XIIème siècle également, vient d’être complètement restaurée. Les peintures murales du XV ème siècle ont été remises à jour et en particulier un ange peseur d’âme et une litre (large bande noire peinte à l’occasion de funérailles) où figurent les blasons de quelques uns des seigneurs de Curemonte. Cette église abrite aujourd’hui un musée d’art religieux.
Visites
Ces trois églises sont ouvertes toute l’année au public.
La Halle
Construite au XIXème siècle, elle abrite un fût de croix du XVIème siècle ainsi qu’une exposition permanente sur Colette. En effet, l’écrivain séjourna à Curemonte durant la guerre chez sa fille Bel Gazou, propriétaire alors des châteaux de Plas et de Saint Hilaire.
L’été, la halle retrouve sa destination première. Tous les Mercredis à partir de 16 heures, un petit marché de produits locaux y est organisé.
Responsable : les Clefs de Curemonte (Tél. : 05 55 84 05 27)
Points de vue aménagés et table d’orientation 
Découverte du site depuis la table d’orientation.
Responsable : Les Amis de Curemonte (Tél. : 05 55 25 45 72)
Un peu en contre bas près de la croix du Clavel, sur le terrain de la Reyne, il est placé un panneau sur lequel figure un plan détaillé et commenté de la commune. On retrouve ce plan dans le bourg près de la mairie. Responsable : Les Clefs de Curemonte (Tél. : 05 55 84 05 27)
Richesse d’un patrimoine
Dans l’église de Saint-Genest, un musée fut créé en 2002 afin d’y exposer des objets d’art religieux faisant parti du patrimoine historique de Curemonte.
Exposition permanente sous la halle du bourg.
Exposition d’art chaque été dans l’église Saint Hilaire à La Combe (hameau de la commune)
Responsable : Les Amis de Curemonte (Tél. : 05 55 25 45 72)

 

В окрестностях:

Two further little churches can be seen in the nearby hamlets of Saint-Genest and La Combe. The second of these is for me the most impressive, being a very early (11th century) roman style church, now also used for artist exhibitions during the summer months, while the church of Saint Genest is a small museum of local religious items.

You are spoiled for choice of picturesque villages in the Correze department near Curemonte — other ‘most beautiful villages in France’ nearby include Carennac, Autoire, Loubressac and Turenne.

You can find more local travel ideas in the Correze guide and the Limousin guide.

 

Within a 25 to 30 km area, you can visit famous sites, i-e :

 

CORREZE DEPARTMENT   LOT DEPARTMENT
Beautiful Towns and Villages
AUBAZINE (famous abbey)
BEAULIEU (beautiful church)
COLLONGES (the red town)
La CHAPELLE-AUX-SAINTS (prehistoric museum)
TURENNE (famous village)
 
Beautiful Villages   Castles
AUTOIRE   CASTELNAU
CARENNAC   MONTAL
LOUBRESSAC    
MARTEL    
ROCAMADOUR

A proximité

Collonges-la-rouge : 13 km

Turenne : 19 km

Padirac : 28 km

Autoire : 31 km

Rocamadour : 34 km

MAP AND ROUTES CORREZE DEPARTAMENT — PDF

 

Turenne

Turenne

  • Carennac: most beautiful village (9km)
  • Eglise de Saint Pierre (Carennac): religious monument (9km)
  • Collonges-la-Rouge: most beautiful village (10km)
  • Castelnau-Bretenoux Chateau: national monument (12km)
  • Loubressac: most beautiful village (15km)
  • Turenne: most beautiful village (15km)
  • Gouffre de Padirac: site of natural beauty (16km)
  • Autoire: most beautiful village (17km)
  • Chateau Montal: national monument (17km)
  • Gouffre de la Fage: site of natural beauty (22km)

 

 

 

LA VICOMTÉ DE TURENNE :

3 balades pour découvrir le terroir… Photographiez les paysages !

3 boucles et 10 stations de découverte, regardez à travers l’appareil photo et plongez dans la géographie et l’histoire des lieux, découvrez de magnifiques paysages et points de vue. Possibilité de faire les 3 boucles à la suite (soit 32,5 km).

Les 10 Thématiques : l’agriculture d’aujourd’hui, un paysage de noyeraie, le paysage agricole d’hier, les domaines de la Vicomté, les vallées de la Vicomté, le plateau calcaire, le milieu bocager, le panorama de Turenne, le paysage géologique, un paysage sous surveillance.

Turenne : 10,6 km

Durée 3h — dénivelé 390m.

Noailhac : 13,3 km

Durée 3h45 — dénivelé 480m.

Ligneyrac : 8,6 km

Durée 2h30 — dénivelé 340m.

 

Carnet disponible dans les Offices de Tourisme gratuitement ou

 

Торговые дни

рынки

Каждый четверг и субботу: ближайший рынок в Кюрмонте — Вайрак (Vayrac).

Каждый вторник и пятницу вы можете посещать Мейссак (Meyssac ), к которому добавляются воскресенье в июле и августе.

Ярмарки

Каждая 2 — й и 4 — я   пятница месяца , есть выставка в Meyssac.

Это большой открытый рынок, где вы можете найти местные продукты, одежду, ткани, галантерею, обувь, …

Фермерский рынок

Каждую среду с 16 до 20 часов в июле и августе  сельский дом Curemonte организует рынок региональных продуктов. С 18 часов на пикник, ассоциация предоставляет столы, планш и барбекю, чтобы насладиться продуктами прямо на месте.

_______

 

 

GET IN

NO BUS to Curemonte, only TAXI

GARE SNCF Brive-la-Gaillarde

Bus from Brive-la-Gaillarde — 

Buses to Brive from other cities: Oui, Flixbus, Eurolines

 

 

BY TRAIN:

GAREBRIVE-LA-GAILLARDE

162 Avenue Jean Jaurès 
19100 BRIVE LA GAILLARDE

СТАНЦИЯ:
  • Каждый день с 4:30 до 0:30
БАНК:
  • Понедельник: с 6:15 до 20:00
  • Со вторника по субботу: с 6:30 до 20:00
  • Воскресенье и праздничные дни: 7:15 — 20:00

Парковка Effia avenue Jean Jaurès расположена прямо напротив вокзала + южная сторона проспекта Муассан

Открыто все 7/7 и 24/24

Платная парковка

Места для инвалидов

Прокат автомобилей: агентство АВИС в зале вокзала (05 55 79 78 25). Часы в будние дни: с 9:30 до 12:00 и с 16:00 до 18:00, по субботам, воскресеньям и в праздничные дни закрыто. 

  • ligne 25 Bordeaux-Périgueux-Brive с 9 декабря 2018 года по 6 июля 2019 года (PDF, 234,37 КБ) Обновлено 20 ноября 2018 года.
  • ligne 06 Limoges-Uzerche-Brive с 9 декабря 2018 года по 6 июля 2019 года (PDF, 379,29 КБ) Обновлено 20 ноября 2018 года.
  • ligne 5 Limoges-St Yrieix-Brive с 9 декабря 2018 года по 6 июля 2019 года (PDF, 209,13 КБ) Обновлено 20 ноября 2018 года.
  • ligne 11 Brive-Tulle-Ussel с 9 декабря 2018 года по 6 июля 2019 года (PDF, 222,67 КБ) Обновлено 20 ноября 2018 года.

парковка

В деревне запрещено движение всех автотранспортных средств (кроме жителей), а стоянка для посетителей организована с целью сохранения всей красоты родовой среды и ландшафта.

4 варианта парковки в зависимости от вашего способа передвижения.

  • Платная парковка 

Расположенная в верхней части деревни (из Branceilles) в La Cabrolle, есть  платная автостоянка в год (24 часа в сутки)  за 2 €  для автомобилей и мотоциклов и 4 € для автодомов (оплата наличными ), за каждые 24 часа.

  • Местоположение PMR — Лицо с ограниченной подвижностью

Для людей с ограниченными возможностями передвижения отведено 1 место для инвалидов. Расположенное на въезде в деревню перед пещерой, это место бесплатно. 

  • Зона обслуживания автодома

Для автодомов, приветствие предлагается на ферме Lou Pe De Gril, в Francine и Maurice Guionie, круглый год. Есть водоснабжение и урны.

  • Домашняя группа в Curemonte

Автобусы могут сделать минутную остановку, чтобы сойти и забрать группу у входа в деревню перед пещерой. 

By car

  • A20 : Paris/Toulouse. Paris: 460km (A20 — toll-free between Vierzon and Brive), Limoges: 90km, Toulouse: 240km
  • A89 : Clermont-Ferrand/Bordeaux. A71/St-Germain les Vergnes (156km) and Brive Nord/Libourne (169 km) sections
  • D1089 : Clermont-Ferrand/Bordeaux

By bus

By train

  • Brive, Tulle, Ussel and Uzerche railway stations www.oui.sncf.
  • Paris-Toulouse route.

By plane
 

Brive — Dordogne Valley Airport

 

 

  • Paris Orly : daily return flights (except Saturday).
  • Lyon Saint Exupéry : from 14 May 2018, with 3 return flights per week (Monday, Wednesday and Friday) all year round.
  • Ajaccio : return flight every Saturday, from 2 June to 29 September 2018.
   
London Stansted : 2 weekly return flights, Wednesday and Saturday, from 28 March to 27 October 2018.

 

 

 

Limoges International Airport

 

Regular Ryanair return flights between LimogesLiverpoolLondon StanstedManchesterNottingham East Midlands,Bristol (summer) and Leeds-Bradford (summer).
Regular Flybe return flights between LimogesBirmingham (May to October) and Southampton (May to September).

Leave a Reply