Figeac (Фижак)

Grands Sites de Midi-Pyrénées - Figeac (Фижак)Domme (Домм), Дордонь, ФранцияFigeac (Фижак) — небольшой городок, в северной части региона Миди-Пиренеи, в землях катар на юго-западе Франции. Компактно расположенный вокруг центрального аббатства 9-го века, разросшийся и процветавший благодаря торговле. В 12-м веке разбогатевшие местные жители построили здесь множество красивых особняков. Укрепленный в 14-м веке, городок сохранил до наших дней свой средневековый облик, свидетельство славного плошлого.

В Фижаке родился выдающийся ученый-египтолог, Жан-Франсуа Шампольон, расшифровавший египетские иероглифы. В доме, где родился ученый, основан музей, посвященный письменности разных стран.

Расстояние до Фижака:

Интресность:

Фижак точно стоит посетить! Множество романских зданий, очень интересен с архитектурной точки зрения, особенная атмосфера! На осмотр города стоит заложить часа 3.


 

Погода в Фижаке:

 

Путеводитель по городу Фижак:

VPAH, Villes d'Art et d'HistoireУже на протяжении 20 лет Фижак носит статус «Города Искусства и Истории». Этот лейбл подтверждает важность архитектурного наследия и политику города на его сохранения, что означает для посетителей, что здесь они найдут все необходимое, чтобы получше узнать и понять город.

Исключительная красота и гармоничность Фижака, его безусловный шарм основаны на выдающемся уровне жизни этого маленького городка.

 

 Добраться в Фижак:

 

История Фижака:

История Фижака начинается с 9 века, когда на берегах реки Селе, недалеко от Конка, был основан бенедиктинский монастырь.  Будучи расположенным на одной из главных торговых путей юго-восточной Франции, Figeac разбогател за счет торговли с главными коммерческими центрами Европы и Средиземноморья. К началу 14-го века Фижак стал одним из богатейших городов Южной Франции.

Столетняя война привела к остановке экономического развития Фижака. С 15-го века город играл роль политического и экономического центра окрестностей. Несмотря на попытки модернизации, Фижак практически не изменился даже в 19 веке. Настоящим поворотным пунктом стало начало 20-го века, когда здесь открылась воздухоплавательный завод. В результате индустриальное развития началась модернизация и рост Фижака.

 

Достопримечательности Фижака:

Период процветания Фижака длился с 12 по 14 вв, так что в городе сохранились выдающиеся по изысканности домики той эпохи. Построенные из камня и дерева, они обычно включали так называемую aula (главную гостиную) на верхнем этаже, а магазины напротив аркад располагались вдоль улицы. Окна были украшены тонкой резьбой в романском стиле.

Много других изысканных домов Фижака были построены в 15 — 16 вв, с solelho (открытым зернохранилищем) на верхнем этаже. Такие дома можно увидеть на place Gaillardy.

В эпоху Ренессанса в Фижаке продолжали строить дома в средневековом стиле, хотя многие из них стали включать ренессансные элементы: башенки, дворики с аркадами, винтовые лестницы и сдвоенные окна были регулярно расположены на фасаде. Дома 18-го века отличаются монументальными лестницами. С его архитектурным наследием, Фижак представляет полную панораму местной городской архитектуры с 12 века до наших дней.

 

Hôtel de la Monnaie

Хотя квартал Ortabadial был частично разрушен, чтобы освободить место для place Vival, Hôtel de la Monnaie —  городской особняк 13-го века уцелел. Это прекрасный образец великолепной резиденции эпохи Ренессанса, с арочным нижним этажом и парными окнами. Теперь здесь расположен туристический офис и Музей Старого Фижака (Musée du Vieux Figeac).

Hôtel de la Monnaie

Музей Старого Фижака и Туристический офис

  • еж. окт–апр: вск;
  • май–июнь и сент

 

Аббатство Сен-Савер

Abbatiale Saint-Sauveur

Эта церковь — одна из сохранившихся частей древнего аббатства, вокруг которого вырос город Фижак. Зал капитула 13-го века теперь превращен в часовню Натр-Дам-де-ла-Пити (Chapelle Notre-Dame-de-la-Pitié). Она украшена росписями 17-го века.

 

Place Champollion

Вместе с place Carnot, это одна из двух главных площадей Фижака. Раньше называемая place de l’Avoine, она окружена средневековыми домиками. Дом под номером 4 — Maison du Griffon — датируется 12-м веком и выделяется резным декором в романском стиле. Рядом, под номером 5,  расположен особняк 14-го века в готическом стиле с каменным solelho.

 

Musée Champollion

Музей расположен в доме, где родился Жан-Франсуа Шампольон (1790 — 1832), французский востоковед, основатель египтологии. Благодаря проведённой им расшифровке текста Розеттского камня 14 сентября 1822 года стало возможным чтение египетских иероглифов.

Жан-Франсуа Шампольон

Jean-François ChampollionЕщё ребёнком Жан-Франсуа Шампольон демонстрировал гениальные способности к изучению языков. К 16-летнему возрасту он изучил 12 языков и представил Гренобльской Академии свой научный труд «Египет при фараонах». В возрасте 19 лет  в 1809 г. Шампольон стал профессором истории в Гренобле. В 20 лет он свободно владел французским, латинским,древнегреческим, еврейским, арабским, коптским, зендским, пехлевийским, сирийским, арамейским, фарси, амхарским, санскритом и китайским языками.

По возвращении с острова Эльба, в 1815 году, Наполеон лично встречался с двумя братьями Шампольон (его брат стал личным секретарем Бонапарта), интересуясь восточной культурой.

После поражения Наполеона и реставрации Бурбонов в 1815 году, Шампольон, как бонапартист и противник монархии, лишился звания профессора, а за участие в организации «Дельфийского союза» его ссылают на полтора года. Лишённый средств к проживанию в Гренобле, в 1821 году Шампольон переселился в Париж.

Расшифровка египетских иероглифов

Шампольон принимал участие в поисках ключа к расшифровке египетских иероглифов, интерес к которым возрос в связи с открытием Розеттского камня — плиты с благодарственной надписью жрецов Птолемею V Эпифану (196 до н. э.) На протяжении 10 лет он пытался определить соответствие иероглифов современному коптскому языку, происходящему от египетского. Наконец, ему удалось прочитать обведённые картушем иероглифы, обозначавшие имена «Птолемей» и «Клеопатра», хотя дальнейшая расшифровка затормозилась из-за распространенного тогда мнения, что фонетическая запись стала применяться только в Позднее царство или эллинистический период для обозначения греческих имён. Но вскоре Шампольон наткнулся на картуши с именами фараонов Рамсеса II и Тутмоса III, правителей в период Нового царства, что заставило его предположить, что иероглифы обозначали согласные звуки и слоги, а не слова.

В 1828-1829 годах вместе с итальянским лингвистом Ипполито Роселлини Шампольон отправился в свою первую экспедицию в Египет и Нубию, где он изучил огромное количество древнеегипетских памятников и надписей. Во время этой экспедиции Шампольон окончательно подорвал своё слабое здоровье и умер в Париже в результате инсульта в возрасте всего 41 года.

Музей Шампольона в Фижаке

Музей, посвящённый Ж.-Ф. Шампольону, был открыт в родовом доме отца египтолога в 1986 году в присутствии Президента Республики Франсуа Миттерана. В 2007 году музей открылся вновь после 2 лет ремонтно-восстановительных работ. Это единственный музей не только во Франции, но и во всей Европе, посвящённый как египтологии, так и истории обществ и письменностей мира.

Коллекция музея  включает многочисленные письмена, в том числе египетские иероглифы.

  • Les Écritures du Monde
  • 4 rue des Frères-Champollion.
  • апр — июнь & сент: вт–вск;
  • июль и авг.: еж;
  • окт: вт- сб, вск

 

Place des Écritures

Эта необычная площадь была создана по проекту Йозефа Косу (Joseph Kosuth, 1945 — ), пионера концептуального искусства. Часть его постоянных инсталляций на площади представляют из себя увеличенную копию знаменитого Розеттского камня (отсылка к Шампольону и его египетским успехам).

 

Hôtel de Colomb

Этот особняк со сдержанным фасадом и роскошно украшенной винтовой лестницей — традиционная резиденция 17-го века. В здании расположена постоянная выставка, посвященная истории и наследию Фижака.

  • 5 rue de Colomb.
  • Тел (05) 65 5005 40. #
  • 10 июля–19 сент: еж;
  • апр–9 июля и 20 сент–окт: вт–вск

 

Средневековые дома

Множество домов в Фижаке стоят того, чтоб ими полюбоваться. Среди них —

Hôtel Galiot de Genouillac, с изящной винтовой лестницей;

Palais Balène, датируемый 14-м веком, построенный вокруг центрального дворика;

Hôtel d’Auglanat, с башенкой на одном из его внешних углов и декорированными воротами 14-го века;

ÉgliseNotre-Dame-du-Puy, чья апсида 13-го века была перестроена в 17-м веке, когда был установлен монументальный алтарь в честь Мадонны.

 

Houses of the Medieval merchants Toits Figeac in the Middle Ages was a dynamic trading centre open to the world. The old houses which belonged to the merchants are the most spectacular heritage of those days. Exceptionally well preserved, the architecture and decoration follows the evolution of art during the middle ages from Romanesque to Gothic. From the Hôtel de la Monnaie to the houses round Place Champollion, each building gives us the opportunity to discover the “art de vivre” of medieval towns.

Joseph Kosuth’s Place des Ecritures — a magnificent replica of the Rosetta stone, a tribute to the work of the famous egyptologist Jean François Champollion, born in Figeac. • Place Champollion and Place Carnot: the market places in the centre of Figeac which mark the emergence of the medieval city at the cross roads of ancient routes. • Saint Sauveur church : the former monastery founded in 9th century, was the origin of the future town. The building shows the successive styles of architecture from the 12th century to the 20th centuries. • The Le Puy church on the hill overlooking the town, with views over the roofs of the town. • The banks of the Célé river, spanned by the medieval Pont du Pin and the modern footbridge designed by Marc Mimram. • The colourful local Saturday market .

ESPACE PATRIMOINE “PORTRAIT D’UNE VILLE, FIGEAC”

GB The permanent exhibition provides the keys to an in-depth exploration and understanding of the town. Temporary exhibitions are also held

Du 01/04 au 09/07 et du 22/09 au 31/10 de 14h à 18h sauf le lundi Du 10/07 au 20/09 de 10h à 12h30 et de 14h à 18h tous les jours Entrée libre

 

MUSÉE CHAMPOLLION LES ÉCRITURES DU MONDE

Place Champollion 46100 FIGEAC Tél. 05 65 50 31 08 ou 05 65 50 05 40 musee@ville-figeac.fr www.musee-champollion.fr

B This museum is installed in the house where Jean-François Champollion was born, behind a façade of glass and copper pierced with a thousand different graphic signs

Du 01/01 au 31/03 et du 01/11 au 31/12 : de 14h à 17h30 sauf le lundi Du 01/04 au 30/06 et du 01/09 au 31/10 : de 10h30 à 12h30 et de 14h à 18h sauf le lundi Du 01/07 au 31/08 de 10h30 à 18h30 : tous les jours Fermeture annuelle du 16 au 31 janvier. Fermé les 1er janvier, 1er mai et 25 décembre.* Adulte : 5 € — Enfant (jusqu’à 18 ans) : 2,50 €  — Gratuité (jusqu’à 12 ans) *ouvert les lundis de Pâques et de Pentecôte

 

MUSÉE DE LA RÉSISTANCE ET DE LA DÉPORTATION 35 rue Emile Zola 46100 FIGEAC Tél. 05 65 34 37 60 ou 06 67 52 89 05 michel.larguille@orange.fr Musée de la résistance, libération, déportation — Rafle du 12 mai 1944 à Figeac. GB Resistance Museum, Deportation and raid of 12th May 1944 in Figeac. ES Museo de la Resistencia, deportación y redada del 12 mayo 1944 en Figeac. Du 12/05 au 29/09 : de 14h30 à 18h30 le mardi, jeudi et samedi Entrée libre

SALONS DU COLLÈGE DU PUY MUSÉE D’HISTOIRE

Cour du Puy — 46100 FIGEAC — Tél. 05 65 50 31 08 — musee@ville-figeac.fr www.musee-champollion.fr — www.tourisme-figeac.com

B The « Salons du Puy » presents some of the finest examples of wallpannelling and paintings (17th and 18th centuries). The museum represents the memory of the town and the region.

Du 01/07 au 31/08 : de 14h30 à 18h30 Adulte : 3,50 € — Enfant (jusqu’à 18 ans) : 2,00 € Gratuité jusqu’à 12 ans. Visite avec les salons du Collège du Puy

MUSÉE PAULIN RATIER

16, rue Caviale 46100 FIGEAC www.museepaulinratier.fr

B Museum devoted to the aircraft propeller and the aeronautical products of Ratier-Figeac. Collection of wooden propellers dating from 1912 to 1939.

Du 01/01 au 31/03 et 01/10 au 31/12 : de 10h à 12h et de 14h30 à 18h le samedi Du 01/04 au 30/06 : de 10h à 12h et de 15h à 19h le samedi Du 01/07 au 30/09 de 15h à 19h sauf le dimanche et le samedi de 10h à 12h et de 14h30 à 18h Entrée libre

HÔTEL MÉDIÉVAL

Commanderie des Templiers 41 rue Gambetta — 46100 FIGEAC Tél. 06 30 72 36 59 info@commanderie-des-templiers.com www.commanderie-des-templiers.com

This listed building transports you into the past, a haven of peace

Du 02/05 au 14/06 et du 14/09 au 25/10 de 14h à 18h le samedi. Du 15/06 au 13/09 de 10h à 18h sauf le dimanche, lundi matin Adulte : 5 € — Enfant (jusqu’à 14 ans) : 2,50 € — Gratuité jusqu’à 10 ans

 

 

 

Documents are available at the local Tourist Office of Figeac and costs 0.30 c, and for children it’s free!

 

Карта

Экскурсии:

Discover Figeac Town of Art and History with a guided tour led by qualified guides offering a wide choice of visits. General visit daily at 4.30pm in July and August and every Saturday in April, May, June and September. In July and August several themed visits are organised in the mornings plus torch lit visits every Wednesday evening at 9.30pm. • Discover Figeac on the little tourist train “Lou Fjagol” a 45 minute tour in July and August • The discovery leaflet “The keys to the city — Figeac” is available in the Tourist Offices in the Figeac district

Путеводитель — скачать PDF (англ, фр, исп) 

 

Medieval market places

Place de la Halle In the historic centre of Figeac the two market places, Place Carnot and Place Champollion, represent the heart of the merchant city which developed due to its situation at a crossroads between major communication routes. Some of the most significant buildings can be seen here, an architectural style where tradition and avant-garde go hand in hand. As market or meeting place, the area continues to be the lively centre of the town today.

 

Saint Sauveur Church

Eglise St Sauveur

On the banks of the Célé river, Saint Sauveur church witnessed the origins of the town. The building is the former monastery, founded in the 9th century, which gave the impetus to the foundation and development of Figeac. Building work continued on the edifice from the Romanesque period with transformations right up to the 20th century. It illustrates each stage in the town’s history from Medieval pilgrimages to Baroque embellishments.

The hillside — “le Puy”

Not far from Place Champollion the hillside of le Puy introduces the visitor to a tranquil verdant atmosphere so contrasting with the urban landscape of the town centre. After the religious wars of the 17th century, mansions were built near the former medieval church, itself newly rebuilt to receive an ornately decorated altar screen and Baroque paintings. The view from the front of the church gives a magnificent panorama over the roofs of the town.

 

The banks of the Célé

The Célé river which flows through Figeac is an integral part of the urban landscape. Take a walk along the banks of this affluent of the river Lot and you will discover that the town is intimately linked to the country. The tree-planted gardens on the outskirts of town lead down to the river and engineers throughout history illustrate the continuity of the town’s history from the medieval Pont du Pin to the contemporary footbridge designed by Marc Mimram.

 

The little tourist train

A relaxing way to visit Figeac for the young and not-so-young. The tour with commentary lasts 40 minutes and takes you along the banks of the Célé, through the residential area, past the churches, the le Puy Terrace and along some of the streets in the historic centre.

In July and August : Departures every hour from the Figeac Tourist Office, 10 am, 11 am, 12 am, 15 am, 16 am, 17 am, 18 am. Every day except Saturdays and Sunday mornings.

Musée Champollion-Les Ecritures du Monde

In 2007 the Musée Champollion-Les Ecritures du Monde, reopened after almost 2 years during which the museum was extended and renovated.

In 1986 the town of Figeac had decided to pay tribute to Jean François Champollion by dedicating the house he was born in to the subject of Ancient Egypt, opening it to the public.
Today the museum encompasses the writings of the world. The objective being to highlight Champollion’s work and situate it within the fabulous adventure of the written word.

The museum was designed by the architect Alain Moatti, of the firm Moatti and Rivière. It opens onto one of the town’s main squares with a dual façade which uses the building’s original medieval stone façade behind which is placed the “façade of a thousand letters” : a copper sheet held between glass is cut through with scripts from all over the world, an interpretation by the graphic designer Pierre di Sciullo.

In 2007 the Musée Champollion-Les Ecritures du Monde, reopened after almost 2 years during which the museum was extended and renovated.
In 1986 the town of Figeac had decided to pay tribute to Jean François Champollion by dedicating the house he was born in to the subject of Ancient Egypt, opening it to the public.

Today the museum encompasses the writings of the world. The objective being to highlight Champollion’s work and situate it within the fabulous adventure of the written word.

The collections in the Musée Champollion tell how, more than 5000 years ago, writing appeared in different parts of the world : mankind created a system of signs whose organisation and shape enable thought and language to be seen.

Writing then gained mobility, evolving with each different scribe. It enabled man to intercede with the gods, to set up a system of government or to perceive the world. Technological innovations such as the invention of the book, the printing press and today’s digital technology have served many writing systems.
It is hard to imagine a world today without the signs that, written on stone or sand, represent the spoken word which links us to one another.

Opening times
July and August : from 10.30 am to 6:30 pm every day
September — October: from 10.30 to 12.30 am and from 2 to 6 pm daily except Mondays.
November to March : from 2 to 5.30 pm daily except Mondays
April to June : 10h30/12h30 and 2pm — 6pm except Mondays

During school holidays the opening times may be open for longer periods, check on the “what’s new page”
Closed 1st January, 1st May, 25th December
Admission
Full price : 5 €
Concessions : 2,50 € children 13-18 years, students, unemployed
Children under 12 : free
1st Wednesday each month free (except July August)
Carte Ambassadeur :8€ one year’s unlimited admission to museum and temporary exhibitions, concession for one person accompanying the card holder.
Supplement audio guide 4€ (in French, English, Spanish, German)
Children’s museum trail booklets in French
Petit détective : 0,50€
Carnet de voyage : 1€
Prince au nez casé : 1,50
Children’s activity tour 5€
Accessibility
Car parking is prohibited in Place Champollion (deliveries till 10 am only)
Free car parking : le Foirail (400m from the museum via rue de Colomb)
Disabled car parking : place Carnot (Place de la Halle, 150m from the museum).

 

Jean François Champollion (1790 – 1832)

Jean François Champollion was born in Figeac on 23 December 1790. His father, Jacques Champollion had settled in the town around 1770 and had opened a bookshop situated Place de la Halle. Legend has it that Jean François taught himself to read from his mother’s prayer book. In 1801 he followed his brother Jacques Joseph to Grenoble where they both became closely acquainted with Joseph Fourier, Préfet of Isère, who had taken part in Bonaparte’s expedition to Egypt. Champollion undertook to study history while at the same time studying linguistics and philology, for which he mastered several languages of the Middle and Far East : Arabic, Hebrew, Coptic, Aramaic, Sanskrit, Persian, Ethiopian, Chinese, and Syriac. He made a detailed study of the Rosetta stone as well as hundreds of texts written in the three Egyptian scripts before he was able to declare “je tiens l’affaire !” (“I’ve got it!”) on 14 September 1822. He had managed to crack the secret of the hieroglyphics, realising that the complex system used its signs as determiners, ideograms and phonograms.

Champollion’s expedition to Egypt in 1828-29 enabled him to check out his theory and identify the temples and funeral monuments of the Nile valley. Champollion stayed on many occasions in the family house in Figeac, particularly during 1815 when he was forced to exile for a year after the restoration of king Louis 18th to the throne. He came back to Figeac in 1831 to work on the publication of his Egyptian Grammar before resuming the lectures he was giving at the Collège de France. Appointed curator of the Louvre Museum, elected to the Acamémie des Inscriptions et Belles Lettres, Champollion did not have time to complete his task. He died on 3rd March 1832, aged 41, leaving his brother to publish his notes and the many documents he had assembled over the later years.

 

В окрестностях Фижака:

Capdenac-le-Haut, 5km (3
miles) southeast of Figeac,
looks down over the Lot. From
the esplanade, it is easy to see
the strategic importance of this
naturally fortified site. The
ramparts, keep and former
consul’s house form a pleasant
walk. The Fontaine des Anglais
is carved directly into the rock.
The village of Espagnac-
Sainte-Eulalie, about 20km
(12 miles) west of Figeac,
nestles in a bend in the Célé
river. It developed around a
12th-century priory. The Église
Notre-Dame, which dates
from the 13th century, has a
half-timbered bell tower.

 

 

 

In every direction around Figeac, without going far, there are charming villages just waiting to be discovered.

They all have stories to tell of their history, their countryside, their people…
They are ready to share with you the emotions of the authentic « Art de vivre », in a region full of charm :

Cardaillac listed as one of France’s « Most beautiful villages» orFaycelles high above the Lot valley. Marcilhac-Sur-Célé with its medieval abbey, Cajarc where contemporary art plays an important part, Capdenac-Le-Haut is proud of the Roman spring whereasCapdenac-Gare reminds us of the importance of the railroad and inLacapelle-Marival the massive castle is a landmark…

des Grands Sites de Midi-Pyrénées:

Rocamadour : la cité sacrée

rocamadour

Rocamadour, cité médiévale accrochée à sa falaise, splendeur de pierre éclairée par les feux du couchant : voici une image, teintée d’éternité, qui restera dans votre mémoire.

La cité est bâtie en paliers successifs à flanc de falaise. Elle s’accroche au-dessus d’un canyon où coule une rivière, l’Alzou. Ses maisons, ses toits et ses églises semblent faire partie du rocher qui tombe du causse de Gramat

Cet extraordinaire village vous transportera dans un autre temps, celui où l’on venait de très loin pour vénérer sa Vierge Noire.

Rocamadour agrippé à sa falaise vous offre la nuit une vue saisissante, «carte postale » magique à ne pas manquer.

Visitez le site internet de l’Office de Tourisme Vallée de la Dordogne — Rocamadour — Padirac : www.vallee-dordogne-rocamadour.com

Saint-Cirq-Lapopie : perle de la Vallée du Lot

saint cirq lapopie

Perché au-dessus de la rivière, le village médiéval de Saint-Cirq Lapopie s’ajuste à sa falaise d’une façon spectaculaire. Il se déroule en une cascade enivrante de ruelles pavées, de façades gothiques, de portes fortifiées et de roses trémières.
Autrefois témoin d’une vie batelière florissante, réputé pour ses tourneurs sur bois, Saint-Cirq-Lapopie est un site classé comprenant 13 monuments historiques. Le village a conservé l’intégralité de son patrimoine, mais aussi de son charme. Echoppes, restaurants et cafés s’abritent du soleil dans l’ombre des portes ogivales, tandis que le site frappe par son harmonie d’ensemble.
Visitez le site internet de l’Office de Tourisme de Saint-Cirq-Lapopie : www.saint-cirqlapopie.com

Vallée de la Dordogne : le charme de l’itinérance

vallée de la dordogne
Son sillage, éblouissant de naturel et de séduction, charme tous les voyageurs.
A votre tour de suivre la vallée de la Dordogne, l’une des plus belles de Midi-Pyrénées. A votre tour d’épouser ses méandres et de contempler les trésors qu’elle a fait naître le long de ses berges, de Sousceyrac à Souillac dans le Lot.

Tout au long de votre parcours, la vallée de la Dordogne vous enveloppera dans son écrin naturel des plus préservés. Méandres bordés de hautes falaises, îlots de sable où règnent saules et roseaux, plages de tranquillité, vergers de noyers et de pruniers : ce décor vert et bleu, où pointent le brun des vieilles tuiles et l’ambre patiné des villages, n’appartient qu’à la vallée de la Dordogne.

Visitez le site internet de l’Office de Tourisme Vallée de la Dordogne — Rocamadour — Padirac :
www.vallee-dordogne-rocamadour.com

Cahors : la pierre, l’eau, le vin

cahors

Dans le décor majestueux de la vallée du Lot, Cahors, Ville d’art et d’histoire, est faite pour le bonheur de l’exploration.

A l’approche de Cahors, le Lot coule en larges méandres fortement dessinés. C’est là, à l’endroit où la rivière trace une de ses plus belles boucles, que Cahors vit le jour au temps de Rome. La cité devint, au Moyen Âge, une place commerciale et financière d’envergure européenne. Un véritable âge d’or à revivre en visitant le centre ancien, intact et délicieusement vivant.

Du pont Valentré à la cathédrale Saint-Étienne, en passant par la place du marché et les terrasses du boulevard, la première ville du Lot conjugue ambiance méridionale, richesses historiques et plaisirs gourmands.

Visitez le site internet de l’Office de Tourisme de Cahors :
www.tourisme-cahors.com

Conques : un voyage hors du temps

conques

Laissez-vous envoûter par les charmes éternels de Conques, dans l’Aveyron. Halte incontournable sur le chemin du Puy, le plus célèbre des chemins qui mènent à Saint-Jacques de Compostelle, Conques vous fera voyager au temps des grands bâtisseurs du Moyen Age.

Trésor millénaire sur les chemins de St-Jacques de Compostelle, Conques bénéficie de l’appellation « Grand site de France » et se classe également parmi les « Plus Beaux villages de France ».

Son importance dans le pèlerinage jacquaire a valu à Conques d’être inscrit au patrimoine mondial par l’UNESCO pour deux monuments : l’abbatiale Sainte-Foy, célèbre pour son tympan du Jugement Dernier, et le pont des pèlerins qui franchit la rivière du Dourdou.

Visitez le site internet de l’Office de Tourisme de Conques:
www.conques.fr

Najac et Villefranche-de-Rouergue : l’aventure des bastides

villefranche de rouergue

Dans l’Aveyron, découvrez avec Villefranche de Rouergue et Najac des bastides presque sœurs et pourtant si différentes l’une de l’autre. Dans leur origine commune, leurs couleurs, leurs ambiances, vivez la grande aventure des bastides du Sud-Ouest où l’originalité fait loi.

Villefranche de Rouergue, fière à juste titre de ses origines prestigieuses, occupe les contours de la vallée de l’Aveyron. La ville révèle un patrimoine remarquable dans un environnement empreint de douceur où domine la tuile rousse du Midi.

Plus au sud, la rivière entame sa course vers des gorges au tracé spectaculaire.C’est ici, à l’entrée des gorges sauvages de l’Aveyron, que Najac se profile sur un promontoire dominant la rivière. Le village offre le calme et la beauté d’un paysage où se marient l’eau, l’arbre et le rocher.

Visitez le site internet de l’Office de Tourisme de Villefranche de Rouergue : www.villefranche.com

 

 

Кухня:

This area has a high reputation for the quality of its produce and also the good value offered by the large number of restaurants serving it :

Rocamadour AOC goat’s cheese, mushrooms, Quercy Farm Lamb, Duck and goose, Cahors AOC wine…

Impossible to talk about local specialities without mentioning that mysterious — some would say magic — mushroom, the truffle or about the saffron.

And more : With children enjoy ours local farms !!

 

Saffron, worth twice the price of gold, is a spice which comes from the pistils of the crocus sativus.
The aroma evokes the heat of the sun. It is used in Mediterranean cooking and surprisingly grows on the dry Quercy causses.

Saffron, a spice from the Quercy
safran fleur
The first trace of saffron was probably around 1600 BC on the foothills of the Himalayas. Since then the plant has travelled far, its production in this area, handed down from father to son, has seen its ups and downs.

Until the 18th century it was intensively produced
Since the French revolution mainly produced in the home, continuing a family tradition of cooking.
Cultivation has continued despite the decline and bulbs have again been planted in farms in Cajarc, Gréalou, Larnagol and Saint Chels.

Since 1997 the cooperative in Cajarc has supervised the revival of production according to the rules. The local variety is well suited to the ecosystem of the Quercy.

 

Saffron farming
Safran 87-1007-540
The saffron flowers appear in October over a period of about three weeks. The flower has a short life, around 48 hours.

The saffron pickers repeat the same gestures that their ancestor used in the 15th century. Each flower is cupped in the palm of the hand, the stem cut with the fingernails, this repeated over and over again. It takes 200 flowers to produce just 1 gram of saffron.

Each flower is cupped in the palm of the hand, the stem cut with the fingernails, this repeated over and over again. It takes 200 flowers to produce just 1 gram of saffron.

The pistils are removed and gently dried to produce “red gold” using an oven at 50°C which dries the moisture and roasts the stigma, producing an intense aroma. During this process the saffron loses 4/5 of its weight.

The leaves remain till the following May then the bulbs are dormant until the next flowering.
In June the bulbs are removed from the ground, dried and replanted during the summer.
Each bulb only flowers once but after 3 years has multiplied, producing a cluster of 15 to 20 bulbs.

Price : around 30€ per gram.

 

Farm raised Quercy Lamb
agneau2
Sheep grazing the pastures of the Causses and under the oak trees is perhaps the image that best represents our area. The local breed have a curious dark circle around each eye, you’d think they were wearing sun glasses! They are a hardy species, raised in spacious airy barns, suckled by their mothers.

The tender pink meat of a leg of Quercy lamb is a great delicacy.

The Quercy farmers were the first in 1991 to obtain the Label Rouge certificate for the quality of their lamb.

melon
“Sunshine on your plate”
Sweet, luscious flesh, tasting like honey : but of course, we’re talking about Quercy Melon!
Each fruit bears the label “Melon du Quercy” guaranteeing Certificat de Conformité quality.

Melon will enhance your skin and improve your night vision – but do you really need an excuse to indulge yourself.

As to the question of just how to choose a melon… Here’s a tip :
The melon should be firm and heavy, the stalk should be ready to drop, (check for the crack in the skin)
The colour is greenish yellow and of course it should smell good.

Walnuts
noix
Walnuts in the Dordogne valley are as emblematic as olive trees in Provence.

The groves of walnut trees form a screen of foliage between river and cliff. Their ranks standing to attention seem to acknowledge the recently obtained award of AOC Noix du Périgord which covers the Dordogne, the Corèze and the Charente.

Not to be missed
A visit to the Musée Eclaté de Cardaillac where the walnut oil mill bears witness to the heyday of the walnut.

noix

Truffles
truffe
The untameable
On the ground that produces truffles, there is no grass around the tree.

This fungus is a mystery and is picked as an invaluable treasure. Revered by all, the gastronome dreams of it.

However hard they try, truffle farmers are unable to guarantee the formation of this precious fungus in the ground.
The truffle season lasts from December to March, if …..

If the oak trees have been well cared for
If the spring has been rainy and warm
If the summer has seen hot weather and storms
If the dog or pig has been well trained and can find the right place
Then perhaps the aroma of “black gold” will turn heads in the Lalbenque market.

truffe

Information
The only regular market in the Lot is in Lalbenque, held every Tuesday throughout the season.

The “Rocamadour”
rocamadour
rocamadour“Cabécou” to the initiated
The small raw-milk goat’s cheeses made on the Causses du Quercy since the 15th century need no introduction. The cheeses, which obtained the AOC label in 1996, are blind sampled several times a year by a jury who insist on all criteria before they allow the image of Rocamadour to figure on the label.

 

Leave a Reply