Dieppe (Дьепп) —
Путеводитель по Дьеппу:
- Добраться в Дьепп
- Достопримечательности Дьеппа
- Карта Дьеппа
- История Дьеппа
- В окрестностях Дьеппа
- Бесплатный Wi-Fi
Добраться в Дьепп:
- Как добраться на машине в Dieppe (расстояние, время в пути, стоимость платных дорог, парковки).
- Из Парижа: 170 км.
- Из Амьена :
- Аэропорт Dieppe-Saint-Aubin web.
- Из Парижа в Дьепп: Paris Saint-Lazare — ветка на Dieppe или Руан. 45 минут в пути.
- Автобусы в Дьепп: расписание, маршруты, цены
- Автобусы по городу Дьепп: www.stradibus.fr — схема маршрутов
The Transmanche Ferry  from Newhaven, England carries cars and foot passengers across the English Channel in about 4 hours for 15 pounds each way. The ferry has a bar, shop, restaurant, and lounge deck. Arrive by train from Rouen (40 minutes — 10 Euros) or Paris (2 hours — 22 Euros). The town also has a small aerodrome, situated in Saint-Aubin (2 miles away). transmancheferries.com.
Taxis Dieppois Pont Jehan Ango 76200 Dieppe Tél. : 02 35 84 20 05
Rates from €5. Minimum age — 5 years. www.attitudebike.com
- ESTRAN Cité de la Mer . Marine museum with displays that cover shipping, fishing, geography, and the history of Dieppe. Open 10-12am and 2-6:30pm daily. Entry €3.
- Château-Musée de Dieppe . The Castle Museum. Fine art and carvings exhibited in the well preserved castle building. Open 10-12am and 2-6:00pm daily. Entry €5. There are three entrances, but the most interesting access is through the tower based in the Square du Canada.
- The memorial to the 19 August 1942 Dieppe raid, Place Camille Saint-Saëns. (one block behind the seafront at the castle end of the beach). Open Mid June — End September, 2-6pm daily except Tuesdays.. This is a small but well-presented museum that has taken over the Italian-style Petit Theatre. Fascinating film with interviews with those who were there. You will need about an hour to watch it all and look at the museum. €3. edit
- L’eglise Saint Jacques contains an unusual 16th century freize depicting tribal life in the Amazon, commissioned by the Dieppoise explorer Jean Ango. The church also houses a set of stained glass windows commemorating the 1639 departure of three Augustine Sisters to Quebec, where they founded the Hôtel-Dieu du Quebec—the first hospital in North America—and the Canadian raid on Dieppe 303 years later.
- The historic town center, reconstructed by M. De Ventabren, architect to Louis XIV, after the bombardment of 1694.
- La Maison Miffant, the oldest house of the city. It can be found rue d’Ecosse, just behind the Dieppe City of Art and History information center.
- International Kite Festival , held every other (even numbered) year in September.
- The Saturday morning market is a must-see. It is one of the largest and one of the most popular markets in Normandy. From 8am to 12:30pm you can find almost everything there.
The Saint-Jacques Church: built between the 12th and 16th centuries, the Saint-Jacques church bears evidence to various epochs. A 1st church was constructed on the remains of the small chapel of Sainte-Catherine, which itself was destroyed in 1195. The church that we see today, dedicated to Saint-Jacques was built around 1283. The church on the sea route of pilgrimage to Saint-Jacques of Compostella, was of vast proportions. The building was however not finished until the end of the 16th century. The architectural evolution of the church allows us to follow the traces of Gothic art over 4 centuries.
The Saint Rémy Church: the first Saint-Rémy church, of which only the tower remains today, was built in the 13th century. It was built at the foot of the hill on which stands the castle. The church gradually fell to ruins and the new Saint Rémy church was built in the heart of the town. It was Thomas Bouchard, deputy mayor and treasurer of the parish who laid the 1st stone in 1522. The gothic centre, surrounded by an ambulatory and radiating chapels, was completed in 1545, but the influence of the first French Renaissance was already visible in the décor. Alas, the construction work was interrupted by the religious wars and recommenced only in the 17th century in a completely new spirit : that of the Catholic counter-Reform.
Sacré-Cœur de Janval Church
The Sacred Heart church of Janval: The Janval church is a modern construction. It is part of an innovative movement. The architect of this church, Georges Feray, was inspired by a new movement (art deco, modernism, regionalism and historical).The tower of the church is 30 metres high and the building was completed in 1926. Built on the traditional Latin cross plan, the church was however inspired by Roman and early Christian churches. It is considered as a seat of sacred art of the period between the two wars.(??)
Notre-Dame des Grèves Church
The « Notre Dames des Grèves » church in the parish of « Pollet », Joseph-Brunel Street, has no architectural originality. It was open for service only on 20th December 1849. The bell tower was built few years later.
Mr Licourt-Lefebvre (1816-1883), a local artist, painter and curator of the Museum, contributed largely to the pictorial decoration of the church. One of the murals that draws attention is definitely the” Wish” or the “Sinking of a Boat”, dating back to 1867. Above the central altar is another painting by the same artist, “Assumption”, done in 1863.
The Saint-Valéry Church in Varengeville-sur-Mer is perched on top of the cliffs of Ailly, hidden among gardens and woods bordering the cliff and overlooks the sea from a height of 84 metres. The lateral aisle in sandstone dates back to 1548 and was perhaps built by Jehan Ango to enlarge the primitive sanctuary. The Choir is bathed in a blue light diffused by the abstract stained glass of Raoul Ubac, disciple of Braque. The wreathed column is decorated with reliefs which were inspired by maritime expeditions. The 3rd column is polygonal (a Henry II pillar top). In 1998, Michel Ciry offered a large oil canvas entitled “Christ The Redeemer”. Important protection and consolidation tasks were recently undertaken by the municipality, the State, the Department and the Region.
It is surrounded by the marine cemetery, made famous by 2 brothers, Jérôme and Jean Tharaud, who lived in Varengeville and wrote several texts about it in the Chronicles of Figaro in 1948. This was the beginning of the fame of this sanctuary. Some artists compare the texts of the Tharaud brothers to the poem by Paul Valéry, the Marine Cemetery, written in 1920 and singing the charms of the marine cemetery of Sète. Analogies were drawn between the two cemeteries.
THE « POLLET » QUARTER
The «Pollet » is a quarter of Dieppe on the left bank of the mouth of the coastal river Arques, which joins the Channel. It is the marine quarter of Dieppe.
The most common explanation for the name is that it is a contraction of “Port-d’Est” to “Pollet”. But Pollet could have a more ancient Gallic origin. In fact Pollet can be related to the Celtic stem « pol/poul », meaning water reservoir, pond or hole. By extension, it can mean stretch of water, mouth of a river or port. This is the origin of the English word ‘pool’ designating swimming pool. It can also mean an area of damp marsh.
Until the middle of the 11th century the confluence of the three rivers (l’Eaulne, la Béthune et la Varenne) formed a deep estuary surrounded by steep hills. The natural basin was a safe anchoring for the local fisherman and passing ships.
The action of these rivers almost created the island of “Pollet” and up to the 19th century the fishermen used the gentle sloping south bank as a dry dock to carry out repairs on their boats and to prepare them for the fishing season.
The Italian style theatre was built by the engineer Frissard and offerd by the municipality to the Duchess of Berry (1826). During the 19th century there were concerts by Liszt, Meyerbeer and later Camille Saint Saëns. Redesigned in 1900 in the “rocaille” style, the theatre was damaged during the war and its façade was redone in cement in the 50’s, before being closed down in 1961. It was reopened in 2002.
LE CHÂTEAU D’ARQUES-LA-BATAILLE
The Castle of Arques-la-Bataille stands on top of a dry and rocky hill, dominating 2 valleys and encircled by a man-made ditch. It was originally surrounded by a protective palisade. The castle was allegedly built between 1040 and 1045 by William of Arques. A few years after its edification, William the Conqueror, Nephew of William of Arques, laid siege to the castle. Famine forced him to capitulate after one year of painful siege. In 1123, the youngest son of William the Conqueror, who became Henry 1st, King of England strengthened the castle with a square keep and a wall.
In 1204, Philippe Auguste annexed Normandy and took the castle from Richard the Lion Heart; it was the last Norman fortress to give itself up to the king of France. In 1668 the edifice was pulled down once the military abandoned it. From 1735 to 1771 the site of the castle was converted into a quarry without any authorisation. Louis XVI closed down the stronghold and the locals were allowed to take away the stones.
In 1860, the rooms were converted into a museum, the inside was cleaned and the visits were conducted by a guard. The museum was permanently closed in 1939, with the start of the Second World War and was occupied by the Germans. At the rout in 1944, the occupants had to withdraw by blowing up ammunitions and leaving behind a very dilapidated castle.
A true maritime memory of the town, the Dieppe museum is in the castle commanding a view of the town and the sea. Behind the castle walls is hidden a collection of exceptional wealth : models of ships, maritime maps, paintings, sculptures…..The first few rooms retrace a part of the town’s history and you can admire a collection of marine paintings of a high quality.But you will be astounded in front of this unique sculpted ivory collection. There are pieces from the workshops of sculptors, born as a result of the rife ivory trade between Dieppe and Africa. The visit of the magnificent ivory collection has some pleasant surprises in store for you.
In the town centre of Dieppe. From June 1 to September 30: open daily 10am to 12pm and 2pm to 6pm.
From October 1 to May 31: open 10am to 12pm and 2pm to 5pm (6pm on Sunday). Closed Tuesday, January 1, May 1, November 1 and December 25.
Rates : Adults 4€ per person; children, students and handicapped persons : 2€; children below 12 years and job seekers : free.
Rue de Chastes – 76200 Dieppe
Tél : 02 35 06 61 99 / Fax : 02 32 90 12 79
Mail : châteaufirstname.lastname@example.org
THE ‘MANOIR D’ANGO’
Residence of the famous fleet-owner of Dieppe, Jehan Ango, this manor is one of the most remarkable in Normandy. The Renaissance architecture is typical of the region and the circular dovecot is one of the most beautiful in France.
April, October and school holidays open week end 10am-12.30pm and 2pm to 6pm
1st May to 30th September open daily 10am-12.30pm and 2pm-6pm.
Rates : Adults: €5/person; children : €3/person. Visit lasts at least 1 hour.
Guided tours (group of 20 minimum: €4 per adult, €3 per child up to 18 years.
9, route du Manoir d’Ango – 76200 Dieppe
Tél : 02 35 83 61 56 – Port. : 06 72 09 08 67
Mail : email@example.com
“L’ESTRAN” – CITY OF THE SEA
Over 1650m2 of permanent exhibitions present the coast of Dieppe and the flora and fauna of the region. You will discover the formation of the chalk cliffs and steps undertaken to protect this natural heritage.
The aquarium allows you to discover the numerous species that live in the Channel and are presented in their reconstituted habitat. In the course of your visit you will learn more about the construction of boats and fishing techniques used in the region of Dieppe.
Open daily 10am-12pm, 2pm-6pm. Closed on 25th December and 1st January.
Birthday parties for children, at €8 per child, can be arranged for 2 ½ hours on Wednesdays and school holidays.
37, rue de l’Asile Thomas – 76200 Dieppe
Tél : 02 35 06 93 20 / Fax : 02 35 84 68 50
Mail : firstname.lastname@example.org
THE MEMORIAL OF 19 AUGUST 1942
Located in the 19th century theatre, the memorial retraces the Anglo-Canadian raid of 19th August 1942. Through a collection of documents, objects, photographs, uniforms and arms of the epoch, you can relive the extreme brutality of the event. A 40 minute film, produced with the help of archives and testimony of soldiers who participated in the raid, shows you the course of the events.
Open April, May, October-mid-November: weekends and bank holidays 2pm to 6pm; end May to end September, daily (except Tuesday) 2pm to 6pm.
Place Camille Saint-Saëns – 76200 Dieppe
Tél : 02 35 84 80 67 / Port. : 06 65 67 90 40
Mail : email@example.com
The ‘Villa Perrotte’ is an art gallery in the heart of Dieppe. It was a magnificent private hotel in the art deco style, constructed in 1928 and is in itself a work of art. All through the year there are painting, sculpture and photography exhibitions of contemporary artists.
Open all year, Thursday – Saturday 3pm to 7pm and Sunday 3pm to 6pm.
Entrance is free.
Madame Annie Ouvry
9 rue Jules Ferry
Tél.: 02 35 86 94 18
Mail : firstname.lastname@example.org
THE JACQUES-EMILE BLANCHE MUSEUM
The famous portrait artist Jacques-Emile Blanche lived in Offranville until his death. A space dedicated entirely to the painter was o
pened in 1995 and is in the centre of the William Farcy garden. It is in the attic of the old 1773 cart house, now called the Park House.
In keeping with the spirit of a ‘workshop’, it is the first and
only museum dedicated solely to Jacques-Emile Blanche. The museum regroups his paintings, the complete literary work, souvenirs, letters and photographs.
Open daily in April (except Tuesday): 2pm to 6pm; weekends and bank holidays: 10am to 6pm
May and June daily (except Tuesday): 10am to 6pm; July and August: daily 10am to 6pm; until 15th September daily (except Tuesday): 2pm to 6pm; weekends 10am to 6pm; from 15t to 30th September: weekends 10am to 6pm.
Maison du Parc du Colombier
Tél. : 02 35 85 40 42 / Fax : 02 35 04 24 54
Mail : email@example.com
THE CLOCK MUSEUM, IN SAINT-NICOLAS D’ALIERMONT
The Clock Museum, in Saint-Nicolas d’Aliermont, is a centre of industrial history of the region. This museum presents this original clock-making know-how which developed from the 18th century to the present day. Plunge into the measure of time through the collections, photographs and testimonies of clock makers. Take advantage of the clock workshop in order to live this moment of precision and technique.
Open from 1st June to 30th September, Tuesday to Sunday from 10am to 12pm and 2pm to 6pm; from 1st October to 31st December, 16th February to 31st May, Wednesday to Sunday from 2.30pm to 6pm. Annual holiday : 1st January to 14th February inclusive, 1st May, 1st and 11th November, 25th December.
Musée de l’Horlogerie
48 rue Edouard Cannevel
76510 Saint-Nicolas d’Aliermont
Tel : 02 35 04 53 98 / Fax : 02 35 85 60 08
Mail : firstname.lastname@example.org
Туристическая карта Дьеппа и окрестностей: http://uk.dieppetourisme.com/files/ot-dieppe/files/brochures/pdf/carte_touristique_au_1er_juin.pdf
Карта Дьеппа: http://uk.dieppetourisme.com/files/ot-dieppe/files/brochures/pdf/plan_dieppe.pdf — с отмеченными достопримечательностями
Полная карта Дьеппа: http://dieppe-production.s3.amazonaws.com/wysiwyg_files/datas/3606/original/plan-ville-dieppe-avril%202015.pdf?1428587716
Other than some remains of pottery and Gallic arms that Abbot Cochet claimed to have found in the surrounding area, there were no souvenirs of this distant period. There is a mention of a “Camp de César’ or “Cité de Limes”. In fact the excavation plans carried out by Pierre-Jacques Féret between 1822 and 1827 gave evidence of Gallic and Gallo-Roman occupations within the boundary walls, as well as remains of a “fanum” of a square map. There was a second phase of excavation in order to evaluate the density of the occupation in the zone threatened by erosion. The receding of the cliff, estimated at 30cm per year between1830 and 1996, gradually caused the northern part of the Camp to subside.
The name Dieppe, meaning ‘deep’ in Anglo-Saxon, was given by the Normans in the 7th and 8th centuries, because the bed created by the river Arques in the chalk plateau of the Caux valley, enabled the docking of ships from the high seas. In 1195, Philippe August pushed back Richard Lion Heart and destroyed the town. The duchy of Normandy, annexed in 1204, became French until François 1st. The French kings reconciled the inhabitants of this strategic site by granting them several privileges. Dieppe now becomes a town of multiple adventurers.
The port activities enabled ship-owners to become rich and Dieppe became one of the leading markets in France. In 1420, the English captured the town and treated it as a rebel. In 1453, Capitan Desmarets, helped by the future king Louis XI and the inhabitants of Dieppe, took back the town and immediately started building the castle.
In the 16th century the ship owner Jehan Ango’s vessels ploughed the seas of Brazil, Africa and North America, bringing great prosperity to the town. The ship-owner made a fortune thanks to his pirates and helped François 1st in his battle against the English. This century also belonged to Abraham Duquesne who was at the helm of the French fleet during several battles that he won. Refusing to adopt Protestantism, he was never made Admiral despite his various victories.
Under François 1st and his successors important work was done and the town knew its golden age. However, civil and religious wars of the 16th century put an end to its prosperity.
From 1668 to 1670, 10,000 persons lost their lives in the plague epidemic. In 1694 Dieppe was destroyed by the Anglo-Dutch fleet; with the exception of the Pollet area, the churches, some houses and the castle, the town was razed to the ground. Under the orders of Louis XIV, the engineer Ventabren undertook the immediate reconstruction and broadening of the streets. The‘Royal Square’, which became the National Square at the revolution, was created, churches restored and brick houses rose from the old ruins. Invaded twice by the Prussians during the 1870 war, the town suffered even more during the Second World War.
Today the town of Dieppe has reached the urban limits. The stakes now are the rehabilitation of the old areas and the requalification of some of the harbour industrial wastelands. Since 1997, the old areas of Pollet and Saint-Pierre are now part of an Architectural, Urban and Scenic Protection Zone.
COUTELLERIE DIEPPOISE14, Grande Rue
Tél. : 02 35 84 84 92
L’ÉPICIER OLIVIER16, rue Saint-Jacques
Tél. : 02 35 84 22 55
В окрестностях Дьеппа:
Приведено расстояние и время в пути на машине.
- Fécamp (16 км, 0:25) — великолепное бенедиктинское аббатство, одна из главных достопримечательностей Верхней Нормандии. Здесь делают «бенедиктинский ликер» (Bénédictine) по своему собственному рецепту.
- Гавр (30 км, 0:40) — крупный порт Нормандии.
- Honfleur (45км, 0:48) — живописный маленький порт, излюбленное мест имперссионистов.
- Руан (106км, 1:20) — культурный и исторический центр Нормандии. Руанский собор — один из самых значимых готических храмов во Франции. Ему посвятил целую серию полотен Клод Моне. В Руане судили и сожгли на центральной площади Жанну д’Арк.
- Caen (118км, 1:30) — столица департамента, с впечатляющим собором
- Живерни (140 км, 2:00) — долгое время здесь жил Клод Моне, можно посетить его дом с марстерской и полюбоваться знаменитым садом, запечатленным на многих шедеврах художника.
- Bayeux (143 км, 1:45) — уникальный гобелен 12 века, длиной 70 м, лучший музей Дня-Д, посвященный Высадке в Нормандии.
- Mont Saint Michel (239 км, 2:40) — аббатство Сен-Мишель, внесенное в список памятников всемирного наследия ЮНЕСКО — главная достопримечательность региона и одно из самых впечатляющих и популярных мест во Франции. Оооочень много людей в высокий сезон (июль-август).